We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful location but overall disappointment.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Graziella Patio Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Graziella Patio Hotel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Arezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful location but overall disappointment.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

Arezzo is a beautiful town and this hotel's location is superb - right beside the Piazza di San Francesco and a few minutes from Piazza Grande. The receptionist was very pleasant and welcoming. However our room (Cobraverde) was very small. It is effectively on 2 levels with the bed and bathroom on a mezzanine. Avoid it if you have any claustrophobic tendencies! Breakfast was disappointing. For 155 euros a night we would have hoped for fresh fruit rather than tinned, and certainly would have expected fresh bread.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ianliz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    44
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
91
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
185 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2008

The great thing about the Patio is its location. It is in a lovely little street one minutes walk from the San Francesco church, 90 seconds from caffe constanti (the best cafe in town), 2 minutes from Chiavi D'oro (best restaurant in town), 2 minutes from via Italia (best shopping in town) 5 minutes from Piazza Grande and less than ten minutes from the duomo, san dominico and the museums.

The building is lovely and the staff are great - their tips about sites & cafes etc can be relied upon

Be warned there is no lift.

Our room (the chinese suite) was just ok. The bed which was like sleeping on concrete was up 11 steep polished stairs. Going down to the loo in the middle of the night was treacherous. If you're older, not fit or have mobility problems it would be a killer. The actual bathroom was pokey and claustrophobic. It was clean enough but had an unpleasant smell of dampness.

Breakfast was ok.

Because of the location & the staff i'd feel mean giving the Patio a 3 but our room doesn't deserve the 4 rating. Other rooms maybe more comfortable.

  • Liked — Location & the staff.
  • Disliked — The bed & steep stairs
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank talkative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2007

We spent one night at this hotel with our eleven year old daughter. Our room was magical, beautifully lit and decorated in a quirky oriental style.The rooms were spotless, the bathroom roomy and well equipped and there were loads of fluffy towels.
We spent a lovely evening in charming Arezzo. Breakfast was fine. We are returning next year without fail!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank sunloverkentuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2006

Arezzo is a cozy town. Patio is a cozy, cozy hotel. My wife and I stayed at Patio for 4 nights. The hotel is located at the center of the town, next to the San Francesco Church which houses the famous Piero della Francesca's fresco. Because the number of the rooms is limited, quite naturally, we felt like staying at home, not in a hotel. We had a brief but very pleasant talk every morning with the madam when she delivered freshly brewed espresso and local salumi. Also, she knows really good restaurants in town. The room was spacious and the bath was equipped with jacuzzi. 175 euro per night was not cheap, but I think Patio is well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank muni55maya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2005

We decided to break our journey from Rome to Florence and chose Arezzo as it is on the Rome/Florence ralway route and reputed to have some lovely Tuscan restaurants (we were not disappointed!) The hotel is 10 minutes walk up from the station and very easy to find.
The helpful and friendly receptionist was very stylish - a real omen to the hotel itself! Each of Hotel Patio's rooms/suites are themed on different parts of the travel writer Bruce Chatwin's books. The attention to detail of the room decor was perfect, even down to the lovely tranquil views over the campanile and pretty back gardens.
The breakfast, served inexplicably in the nightclub underneath the hotel was generous by most Italian hotel breakfast standards.
I can recommend this hotel as a romantic treat for a night or two and an ideal base for exploring Arezzo and the nearby countryside.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank vivelaweekend!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arezzo hotels
0.2 km away
Vogue Hotel Arezzo
Vogue Hotel Arezzo
#11 of 29 in Arezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
6.5 km away
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
#1 of 29 in Arezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#10 of 29 in Arezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Portici
Hotel Portici
#15 of 29 in Arezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.5 km away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#3 of 29 in Arezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel L'Aretino
Hotel L'Aretino
#12 of 29 in Arezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graziella Patio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graziella Patio Hotel

Property: Graziella Patio Hotel
Address: Via Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 23, 52100, Arezzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Arezzo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arezzo
#2 Spa Hotel in Arezzo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Arezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Graziella Patio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Graziella Patio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patio Hotel Arezzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing