We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,942)
Filter reviews
1,943 results
Traveller rating
1,411
346
118
38
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,411
346
118
38
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews concordia temple temple view room private access presidential suite small luxury hotel five star hotel direct view stunning location terrace restaurant wonderful hotel perfect view greek temple terrace overlooking main temple lit up at night lovely pool pasta
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,943 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you’re thinking of going to the valley of the temples, this is the place to stay. Views of the temples from your room are unreal. On property restaurant is overpriced but served a good meal with very good service. Rooms are modern and well maintained.

The negative is that the hotel controls the cooling. Obviously trying to save a nickel, you don’t control the temperature of your room. It happens from the front desk. Bizarre. Truly boiled in the night when automation kicks up the temp. Complained at check out but the hostess became combative. Not a good representation of the customer service you’d expect for the rate paid.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank seven824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a perfectly acceptable hotel with a wonderful location close the Greek temples of Agrigento. The high point of our one night stay were the delicious almond based pastries waiting for us in our well-appointed room. The low point was the extraordinarily high price and very poor value for money.

The hotel's internal sitting area has a skylight but no windows.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the temples are obviously preferable
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MemberGuildfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villa_Athena, Direttore at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Guildford,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at the Hotel Villa Athena.
Please believe that the prices and the costs are perfectly in accordance with the high standard quality of our Small Luxury property and we truly take care of our services and guests.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for further assistance.

Kindest regards,

Roberto Principato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

We spent two nights here and found it paradise. Room 109 was classed as a superior and had everything we needed. All the staff were helpful and attentive. The food was very good but a limited menu and not particularly well priced.The setting is fantastic as you look onto the temples which are lit at night. Good breakfasts. Only downside was we had a wheel trim on our rented car nicked!!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ross m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

We were so looking forward to our stay here but were deeply disappointed by the very poor service - they seemed to be constantly understaffed ! The breakfast fare and venue left a lot to be desired and was certainly not what one expected of a 5 star establishment ! The restaurant was very poor and generally one felt prices over the top and the final straw was being charged cover charge of €6 per person when eating in the hotel restaurants although one was resident ! 5 star location and swimming pool but generally 2 star standard!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villa_Athena, Direttore at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Jennifer,

We are sorry to read your negative comment regarding your stay and the service at the Hotel Villa Athena.
As you could read on TripAdvisor, we are accostumed to receive positive comments on our staff and restaurant services and in reference to the prices, these are perfectly in line with the high stantard level proposed.
If you should require any further clarifications, do not hesitate to contact us.

Warm regards,

Roberto Principato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Our second visit to this hotel and it was an all round disappointment for us. Our room - garden with temple view, as before, was smaller with no bedside tables. Bar access was withdrawn for residents when there was a wedding on - there were 3 in the 10 days we were there - and the festivities go on until after midnight - in one case until 2am - at the tops of their Sicilian voices! Will we be going back? Not a chance.

Room Tip: Avoid staying at weekends in garden rooms during the summer
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Villa_Athena, Direttore at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Jennifer,

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your second experience at our property and that your are not keeping a good memory of our hotel.
However I would like to clarify that, even when we host private events, all the services and facilities are available for our guests without limitations and, in this specific case, the bar service has never been interrupted.
The weddings are stopped at the latest at 11.30 p.m., therefore it sounds unlikely that the festivities went on until 2 a.m.
Hoping to have a future occasion to welcome you as our guest and change your opinion we send you our warmest regards..

Roberto Principato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews