We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
236
36
3
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
36
3
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

When we booked to stay at Casa di Max, we didn't realise that it was on the seventh floor of an apartment block which as Nadia & Klaus say in an earlier review isn't exactly prepossessing from the outside. It also partly explains why we found it hard to find! The geography of Agrigento if you haven't got GPS/satnav is hard to work out from maps as the hilly terrain puts the streets so close together, and there are many one way streets. We had to ask at a bar near the Astor Cinema and then again in the bakery on the ground floor of the apartment block before we were directed to the front door where we saw Antonia's sign! At last! Parking is on the road. We had no problems with this in early November but at different times of the year, it may be more problematic.
Her welcome was very warm and she is very anxious to please. The flat is amazing with many original art works. Our room was a reasonable size with a good sized and well equipped bathroom with huckaback rather than terry towels. The bed head wall was a collage of many interesting and different prints and paintings. As others have said, the views from the rooms over the valley of the Temples to the sea beyond take some beating, especially at night when the temples are illuminated.
Antonia's breakfasts are authentically Sicilian with an excellent selection of pastries/breads both savoury and sweet. The Sicilian blancmange type breakfast dish was also on offer, along with yoghurt and fresh fruit. There were also different preserves and honey available and a large expresso machine and at our request, hot milk.
Antonia's English by her own admission is limited but her charming, warm personality provides a most genuine welcome. Franco, her husband, works behind the scenes quietly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azalel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianto9066, Proprietario at A casa di Max, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you very much Norman & Norman. You are guests who would like to have everyone know that you will continue your tour in Sicily, I hope you will always enjoy the beauties of this island as enchanting as full of contrasts . Your description is very detailed very useful for me , it is always better to know before everyone, what will you find .... thank you very much. I confirm that the building is completely anonymous, so do not picturesque, but I want to assure you it is a modern building , the hotel about strong 1968 with large entrance with a doorman always clean and friendly and available to everyone from 08.00 to 13.00.Non there are stairs or steps even to reach the elevator always working ... so it's not nice but it's functional and thanks to its location you can enjoy the breathtaking views that everybody talks about , the silence and the convenient parking at any time and period of ' year , even in summer , when the center of the city is depopulated of its inhabitants. I'm sorry for the trouble you had to visit , I would assiurare the next guests , however, that we are in the center and for anything I can always plan also going to meet.
Thanks again and I 'm waiting .
Antonia e Franco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I always try to pick where we stay with the idea that it might give us a glimpse into the culture of the area, and we could not have picked better when we decided to stay at Casa di Max. The flat is beautiful, we were warmly welcomed by Antonia (and the butcher downstairs who kindly helped us park our car) and immediately felt at home. After showing us the fantastic views with the illuminated temples, showing us the beautiful flat and giving us advice for where to have dinner, Antonia went back to her home for the evening, leaving us to enjoy the wonderful flat with its incredible artwork. The next morning, we woke up to Italian music playing in the kitchen, Antonia had come back to prepare a fantastic Sicilian breakfast for us. We had a great breakfast mixing French, Spanish, English and Italian, as Antonia gave us great insights on Sicilians. An absolute gem. Can not recommend it enough. Don't settle for a faceless hotel if you have the chance to stay with Antonia!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabelle39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Casa di Max was the epitomy of the perfect bed and breakfast. To begin, the owner, Antonella is a warm and welcoming woman whose breakfasts represented the best of refined Italian breakfast cusine and were in and of themselves, an experience of what Sicily has to offer. In the morning we can hear her singing to the sound of Sicilain tunes of yesteryear and immediately I am transported to a time when I was a child, listening to the radio of my Italian parents. The B&B is a very chique and eclectic place and our bedroom was cozy and inviting, the balcony giving way to the ruins at a distance. At night, the ruins lit up like magic and we knew suddenly that this was a magical place.
Although the building on the outsie may not seem inviting for the undiscerning eye, it does not at all represent the beatiful B&B that lays within.
Treat yourselves when you are in Agrigento and visit Casa di Max! And try the home-made pistacchio honey!!
Nadia and Klaus, Canada

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia-Klaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Agrigento, a must-visit city in Sicily because of Valle dei Templi. And A casa di Max makes our experience even greater.
Warm welcome opon our arrive and useful tips for dinner are just as smooth as its high quality bed sheet in the room: nice and comfortable. Morning sunshine through the french window on the second day, followed by tranditional Sicilian breakfast, is a perfect start to visit the temples. Antonia also demos how she enjoys Sicila life.
Though the building is boring. The B&B inside is well-designed from its layout to the deco. We are very glad to stay there and recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trip806803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Some B & Bs are are just a place to sleep but A Casa di Max is an experience that includes a wonderful host who goes to great lengths to make it a special time. We spent two nights, Antonia created wonderful traditional (high end) Sicilian breakfasts both mornings. I'm sure people would pay to sample the hand made Sicilian treats we were served. Most B & Bs just give you a standard breakfast with typical bakery pastries and store bought toast with jam but we enjoyed samples of authentic dishes that Antonia prepared with recipes from her childhood on her nonna's (grandmother's) china. Sure to be one of the top memories of our trip. Antonia also helped us plan our sightseeing with excellent suggestions. We recommend this B & B to anyone visiting Sicily. The view from our room/balcony was breathtaking day and night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews