We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Grand Torino
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Park Hotel Terme(Abano Terme)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Terme Venezia Hotel(Abano Terme)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Terme Eden(Abano Terme)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Terme Bologna(Abano Terme)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel All'Alba(Abano Terme)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Terme Firenze(Abano Terme)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Europa Terme(Abano Terme)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
42
51
20
14
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
51
20
14
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2015

My husband and I wished to once again return to this hotel for a recap on when we were there last some 15 years ago. The fact that absolutely nothing seemed to have changed (exterior/interior) was to begin with a pleasure for us as our memories of the house back then were only positive & we do like old traditional grand hotels.

Our room (a suite, but standard, nothing fancy) was also oldfashioned with the exception of the bathroom, which we were proudly told at the desk when checking in that it had recently been modernized. It was functional but I was not over the moon - no shelf space to place your personal items = impractical.

The wonderfully expansive dining hall with its huge 60s style chandelier suspended in the middle was the same, in fact nothing seemed to have been changed here. What was different this time was the atmosphere. 1. Only half full and all guests were seated in the left flank, leaving the lovely right side adjacent to the garden empty. 2. Catering was DEFINITELY understaffed, there is nothing so off-putting than being subjected to waiters who are always on the rush and just OOZE their frustration and stress. Not their fault, but as a paying guest (and not little, either) one rightly expects the appropriate service. 3. The quality of food was, well, actually NO QUALITY. If you did not arrive punctually, you were certain to end up with very little from the starters buffet. Because the platters/bowls were never refilled/replaced. My first main dish (halibut apparently grilled) looked like dog food. I thought this could be an exception but next day's lunch nor dinner were any better.

Breakfast, btw, is always on the roof floor of the hotel. The panoramic view is quite special, doesn't make up for the lousy breakfast though. Whatever they do to their fruit salad baffles me. I was wondering if they add a shot of black tea to it? The atmosphere here was run down and scruffy. The upholstery was needing alot of mending, actually a complete replacement.

The fact that WIFI is only available in the lobby area is by today's standards definitely a big minus for the house.

Summary: we checked out the third day, found an other 4 star hotel in the vicinity, full board, same price, WHAT A DIFFERENCE!!!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Meiling S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015

We stayed as a family with grown up "chrildren" on this hotel in week 29. From the outside the hotel can look a litle outdated, but on the inside the hotel has a fine high standard. The Hotel is situated en i nice quiet area. The rooms are very nice and big. Aircondition is run from central administration - in a way that secures a nice temperature at all times in the room.
The food is very good Italian - and with a lot of it.
The hotel is situated in the center of Abano, where there is a lot of shops in good standard (not the typical tourist shops that you will find in the coastal areas).
The area is likewise characterized by litle foreign tourism, and you will easily blend in together with the local Italians.

Room Tip: The Hotel is shaped like a "U" form. The view on indside of the "U" is not the best. A room with a better view, costed € 175/week/room extra
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonnybj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

Hotel Grand Torino has what we like to call: Classic Italian Charm. The way it is furnished and decorated is just welcoming you in this environment.
The staff, and really all of them, are very friendly and helpful. They advice you very good when it comes i.e. to trips in the environment. The people in the restaurant are really great!! The staff at 'terme' department is good and professional
The rooms are spacious and clean. Bathroom is also OK.
We found the food as served during lunch and diner very good. The daily choice was rich and it was really nice how you were advised and helped by Antonella and her colleagues.
Not to forget the 4 swimming pools (1 on the roof, 1 indoor and 2 in the garden. There is also a little gym and the possibility to rent a bike (wide choice again)
I hope we can come back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PimDeWilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2015

We stayed for a week in Abano Terme, which was totally unknown area for us. We liked it a lot. Spring showed its best. The hotell was nice, clean and comfort. The service was good only problem was that their english was quite bad, but no real problem with it. Pool area and garden were nice and we enjoyed also some mudbath and massages.
There were a lot to see around the area.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ulla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Grand Hotel Torino is a very good hotel. Nice swimmingpools, very spacious garden and the food is great.

The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Especially Louisa is great. She is in charge of the wellness and massages. She does everything to make your holiday very relaxing.
One tip: when you arrive at the hotel, they don't give a lot of explanation about the possibilities or e.g. where to go for massages/wellness. So you need to ask the staff yourself. If you do so, they will do anything to help you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarkKarin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews