We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
15
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eaten alive clean site free wifi within walking distance caravan pitch midges pauline pitches kettle pitched tavern pubs facilities
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Well run, clean, friendly camping site set in beautiful countryside.
Peaceful. Only down side is its a bit cramped for caravans.
Great walks around the local lanes & a good pub nearby.
We would go back.
Tip: bring midge repellant in summer.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Small site with pitches very close together. Facilities are very clean - I liked the music in the toilets and showers. Dogs are allowed (on lead). Kettle and fridge/freezer in the kitchen. Do not go there without bug spray. We got eaten alive!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MaryDeirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

We packed up our camping equipment and headed off to free camp at Derrybeg only to find that the Council have changed the rules and you're not allowed to free camp any more - very disappointing. We have been going there for years and enjoyed the peace and quiet. At very late notice on a Friday night, we rang the Sleepy Hollows camp site and were welcomed to stay immediately even though they were very busy.

We were so glad to find this little gem. It's an adult only camp site based at a family home down a very quiet road in Crolly. We have never stayed at an adult only camp site and suddenly realised what it is like to have peace and quiet without kids everywhere - bliss. Not that we don't love kids but I must say we really appreciated not being wakened early by little voices.

The owners were very accommodating, friendly, helpful and were there all of the time. We thought it was very reasonably priced too - hard to beat. We pitched our rather large tent in a lovely green garden surrounded by trees, passing by a cute little vegetable patch. There are sites for camper vans as well.

The facilities are great - everything you need with an indoor kitchen, outdoor eating area, toilets and showers. The showers are warm 24/7 and although basic, it was great to have to them. They are not suitable for people who are used to luxury but personally, we free camp and have stayed in many campsites throughout Europe and as long as somewhere is clean with hot water, we are happy. There is a toaster and kettle in the kitchen with washing facilities.

We were also able to take our dog which was great although we did keep him on a leash all of the time.

The area is fantastic - the campsite is based on a lovely country road where you can walk for miles. If you appreciate looking at flora and fauna, there is every flower, bush, tree and weed that you can think of all on the roadside and we saw a deer in a field. Unfortunately we didn't have the camera with us at the time but there is plenty to take photographs of if you're a keen photographer.

There is a restaurant/pub within a few steps of the campsite although we can't vouch for it as we didn't pay it a visit on this occasion. It is close to the beautiful beaches of Bunbeg and Derrybeg. The views are breathtaking at the old Ostan Gweedore hotel which is now closed where you can take amazing photos of the beach and shipwreck and Mount Errigle which makes you feel as if you are looking at a beautiful Swiss scene. There is also a lovely little harbour at Bunbeg - very picturesque.

This area has a piece of my heart - the walks, the people, the wildness of it all. It is most definitely worth a visit and if you are a camper without children I think you will enjoy the peace and quiet of this campsite. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: You can't park your car exactly beside your tent but it is no problem - just a few steps.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JaygirlF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

A very nice adult only site, with a welcome from the couple owning it.
Wifi only in the hall, not on the site ( that I could locate) but free.
Stayed one night and shall return. Pub in walking distance and a good one with large helpings .
The midges were kind and not too bad, but reception have a very good repellent.
The classical music in the loo and shower are a nice touch

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

Just spent 2 nights at this wonderful site. Weather was fantastic but the welcome from owners Art and Pauline was equally as warm. This is an adult only site set in a sheltered spot down a quiet country road. There's a few spots for campervans and a nice area for tents. There's also a little camping pod and a chalet to hire. Facilities are spotless with piped classical music which is a nice touch, although the opera on Saturday evening made me stay in there a little longer than I should!! Leo's tavern of clannad fame is less than 5 mins walk away. If you want a chilled out experience were the only sound is the breeze and the bird song this is the site. Many thanks folks.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews