We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in an ideal location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Traditional stone cottage with 'Lauze' roof
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Traditional stone cottage with 'Lauze' roof
11 x 5 m private swimming pool La Maison du Gardien in late summer in its natural setting...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Traditional stone cottage with 'Lauze' roof
11 x 5 m private swimming pool
La Maison du Gardien in late summer in its natural setting...
and in June with the roses in bloom over lauze arched gateway
Relaxing by the pool under the hot summer sun
Light, sunny living room
With traditional stone fireplace
With comfortable sitting area
Lovely handmade fully fitted kitchen
...with  all mod cons
The dining area
master bedroom with bookcase of books...
and antique bedroom furniture
Single bedroom with lots of storage space and more books!
First floor shower room
Shower in first floor bathroom
Ground floor shower room and utility with washing machine
Land and gardens around the cottage
Views to the west
Montignac-Lascaux
Tourists sampling the wares at the Monday evening market in Montignac's main square
The Château de Losse, one of 3 in our village
One of the stunning paintings on the walls of Lascaux cave
The delightful café 'Le déjeuner sur l'herbe' on the banks of the Vézère in St Léon
St Léon-sur-Vézère
The pool in the setting sun
Outdoor dining...
amid fragrant blooms
Dive into the blue...
Charming access from the pool to the cottage
Summer blossom
La Maison du gardien in bloom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Thonac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Roy O
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in an ideal location.”
Reviewed 25 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The cottage has been beautifully restored and is very comfortable and well appointed. The amenities are excellent and the pool is exceptional. The location is wonderful because it is close to so many attractions and to a number of excellent restaurants. Caterina and Stephen are really helpful hosts but respect privacy as well.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2018
Thank you Roy and Leslie for being perfect guests! We really enjoyed meeting you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denbydale...
West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We found the holy trinity of travel in our first trip to the Dordogne in as much as our stay provided the perfect property, superb hosts and a wonderful location.

Caterina & Stephen have renovated the property wonderfully by melding traditional Dordogne architure with contemporary interior design that maintains the character of the property but also provides modern comforts. The 4 star rating is well deserved.

As hosts, they balance perfectly their availability to provide advice and support with privacy for guests when appropriate. You will simply not meet friendlier hosts with supplementary affection provided Buffy the dog, aka 'the Buffster' (once Caterina & Stephen have established you're comfortable with canine company).

The location of the cottage combines a secluded rural position with easy access (5 minutes walk) to Thonac's 2 restaurants, shop and hotel bar. Similarly the main road through Thonac takes you through the picturesque Vezere valley with Montignac & our favourite Saint Leon only a few minutes drive. Mediaeval Sarlat, Beynac and Domme are slightly further afield but still an easy journey.

Caves to canoeing, troglodytes to trekking and food & drink aplenty are all easily accessible from Thonac and you really can make any sort of holiday from this property. C'est magnifique!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. You were absolutely perfect guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. You were lovely guests nd we would welcome you back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
684sarahd...
2 reviews
“Adorable house, perfect hosts, in a beautiful and fascinating area”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We loved every moment of our stay. The cottage is pretty but so well appointed; super-clean, well equipped and charming. The pool and gardens are private and delightful. Catarina and Stephen are great hosts - nothing is too much trouble and they are just so friendly. This property is a jewel, and the villages and ancient sites of the Vezere Valley make this a stunning trip.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A truly excellent cottage and fabulous hosts”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was our first ever holiday rental and it has set the bar very high indeed.

From the moment we arrived to a warm and friendly welcome by our hosts (Katerina and Stephen) to the time we departed with the same warmth and friendliness still on display we could not have wanted a better start to our extended holiday.

The cottage is very well appointed and is a perfect size for a couple. It had all the facilities one would hope to find to make our two weeks very much a 'home from home' sensation and provided space for the two of us to move around comfortably. The pool is also excellent and reflects the great care our hosts took in ensuring everything was perfectly presented.

The location - in the Vezere valley - is ideal for visiting the numerous attractions of the area. Pre historic caves, stalagmite and stalactite caves, fortified houses, gorgeous chateaux and so many utterly charming villages.

We even ventured into a canoe for a 12km cruise down the Vezere which allowed us to see the valley from a different perspective.

Although we love visiting different places there is a high probability of us coming back again!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for this lovely review and we would love to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing