We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveller rating
314
38
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
38
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews addo elephant park off the beaten track wonderful cook lovely place one word true hospitality dietary requirements table settings whole family spent three nights wonderful food makes you feel addo region wonderful stay priscilla host meals
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 361 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Our stay there was as we remembered from years before: Priscilla a perfect hostess, going out of her way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. She also is an amazing cook, we enjoyed her delicious dinners.
The rooms are luxurious with the biggest bed of the world (extra super king size)
Returning from a day seeing hundreds of elephants in Addo, having a swim in the pool before having a delicious dinner and sleeping in the biggest bed ever: that is the perfect holiday for us!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We spent two nights at Lupus Den and had a very good time there. It felt like coming home, we enjoyed Priscilla's warm hospitality very much. The home cooked food was amazing, the garden was very beautiful and the kids had a lot of fun in the spacious pool. We can warmly recommend to stay at the Lupus Den.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetLindstroem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We enjoyed our 2nd visit to Lupus Den just as much as our 1st in January 2015. In fact, once again, it was our favourite accommodation during our three week holiday. It is such a relaxing and tranquil place. We stayed in one of the garden rooms again and are glad to say that the high standards haven't slipped since our last visit. The rooms are large, comfortable and quiet (with the exception of an early morning visit by a couple of hadeha birds on one of the days!). Priscilla was as welcoming as ever and the evening meals were delicious and well worth the price. We must also mention the WiFi which was as good, if not better, than all the other places we stayed in the three weeks. Such a nice surprise for a farm in the country.

Room Tip: The 3 garden rooms are all comfortable but Kingfisher has both an indoor and an outside shower!
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kevin_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We spent 2 nights at this stunning place. Beautiful garden with many types of birds. We spotted a pair of paradise flycatchers nesting in one of the trees! Very quiet, peaceful and relaxing place to come to after an active 4x4 round trip at Kabouga Addo Elephant. Both Dinner and Breakfast were superb with attention to detail. The room and beds were clean, cosy and comfortable. It was a special moment to get to know our host, Priscilla who has an amazing story to tell. You can buy the book her amazing daughter Belinda wrote - ask her about it! We were well rested and rejuvinated and inspired when we left.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieB4150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

What a find! About an hour from Port Elizabeth and just outside of the Addo Elephant Reserve this was the perfect start to our holiday in South Africa.
Priscilla is the most gracious of hosts providing excellent accommodation in a stunning location on a working citrus farm. Cottages are set in lush gardens with a large pool and the host serves very good food at breakfast and dinner.
This Country House is very well situated for visits to Addo and other reserves in the area. The remote location almost makes eating in a necessity in the evening with Priscilla proving good food and a small selection of indigenous wines. We found it the perfect place to unwind for a few days and recover from the long-haul flight from the UK.

Room Tip: The Garden Cottages are great for couples or small families.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews