We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay at Camden Nook on the best Island...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Camden Nook

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lower Carlton, Saint James Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

johngasso...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at Camden Nook on the best Island in the World”
Reviewed 13 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We returned again to Camden Nook and it was another special visit.
Merville who was standing in for Rosemary cooked us the most wonderful Caribbean lunches.
We lived on Tuna and blue Marlin and Mervilles Caribbean curries.
The villa was so spacious with all bedrooms being very comfortable and spacious.
We experienced some nice sunsets and the beach and snorkelling was great.
Recommend Bo,s close by and a cold banks in the John Moore bar.
For my sons 30th birthday we visited Casa Cigar lounge in the Limegrove centre where we had a nice cigar and fine rum on a number of occasions!
We visited L'Acajou in the evening where the service and food were excellent.
Recommend Lone star with its great position and sea views and sunsets, next door to the Lone star a lovely beach bar where we had Lion fish, tasted great.
Limegrove cinema is a great night with very comfortable seats.
The Cliff food and service were at the top again.
Horse racing at the Garrison was a good visit this time as both me and Adam had 4 winners each. Visited Cin Cin after the races and this also was really good gain.
Nishi in Holetown was our first visit this time and was a great dining experience with a great standard of food.
We did our usual trip on the Calabaza which only allows 12 people on the boat and again the cruise and snorkelling were lovely with great food on board and top service.

Many thanks again to Nick and Celia For letting us stay in your amazing beachfront home.
Until we return again.
John Pam Adam Lynsie Gassor.

Date of stay: April 2016
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Go8to
Fayetteville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great villa for my family; permitted each family member to do their own thing”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The location on the beach near two great cities and the great public transportation allowed great flexibility. Some in our group hung out on the porch, others swam or beach walked, others took public buses to adjoining towns. Bedding and furnishings are first rate. Local food at Wanda's was great!

Date of stay: March 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We returned !!! Two years after our first visit we returned to Camden Nook with our daughter and both of our sons - all over 18..

We arrived to a lovely welcome from Rosemary who looks after everyone so well.

I cannot recommend this villa highly enough. It is in an ideal location - situated close to restaurants, bars and a short drive from Holetown where there are more restaurants and a supermarket etc.. A rental car is needed. The interior has been well thought out and there is everything you could need. Obviously with having young people with us the wifi was invaluable !! There is no pool but you really don't need one as the wonderful, clear Caribbean Sea is on the doorstep.

It is on a secluded beach which never seems very busy except for the local fishermen. A few doors down is the John Moore bar where you can get a beer and have a natter with the locals. If you visit Barbados you must swim with the turtles - it is an amazing experience - If you bump into Rupert or Shabba on the beach they can arrange this for you.

Rosemary is a great cook and I can recommend the chicken roti's and garlic prawns.

We had a great week and we will be returning again. Massive thanks to Rosemary, Andrew (manager) and Nick (owner).

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaPar...
Farndon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location, wonderful villa which I highly recommend”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Camden Nook is situated right on the beach in Reeds Bay, St James and the view is stunning. Access directly onto the beach. The sea is rocky just in front of the villa, great for snorkelling. We saw puffa fish, flat fish, vast array of reef fish, sea urchins, eels and more! My children spent many happy hours in there. Turning left on the beach is the fish market, very handy for buying the freshest fish you will ever eat! Turn right and you soon reach beautiful sandy bays perfect for swimming.

The villa inside is of a good standard and Rosemary the housekeeper (who is a lovely lady) keeps everything clean, beds made, fresh towels etc. Rosemary will even cook lunch if you require. Where the villa really excels though is the outdoor living space. There is a cosy, comfy seating area to snuggle up in and watch the sunset, a lovely eating area and then a sunbathing deck with 6 sun beds. The only thing missing was a plunge pool or small swimming pool.
Rosemary informed us that the owner has plans underway to install one. If they do- we will definitely be going back!

We had a few maintenance issues with the fan and air con but the manager was incredibly quick to arrange for an electrician to sort out the problem. Excellent service, we were very impressed.

We were there peak week so the villa was quite expensive, you also pay a premium for beach front but I am sure there are times of the year you could go and the bill would be great value for money.

I would not hesitate to recommend this villa. It really is a lovely place on a beautiful island. Paradise!

Date of stay: January 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya R
Walton-on-Thames, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Location, Location, Location...”
Reviewed 24 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The villa is located in the perfect position, five minutes from Speightstown to the north and Holetown to the south. All the best restaurant's are within a twenty minute drive, The Cliff, the Lone Star, Daphne's and Tides. The Limes shopping centre in Holetown is only a 5 minute drive, this is also the same for the Supercentre supermarket which is situated opposite the Limes. The villa is situated on one of the best beaches in Barbados, it is quiet and unspoilt , we were able to swim with turtles just outside the villa gates !! We also had regular early morning visits from green monkeys running along the fence and through the garden.

Not forgetting to mention the villa comes with the best housekeeper and cook. Rosemary is a truly remarkable lady and made our family feel very much at home from day one.

All in all a perfect villa, you will not find another to match it at this price, we have tried!

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Ireland
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.