We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”
Review of Woodlands

Woodlands
Ranked #8 of 459 Restaurants in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Woodlands Restaurant, widely recognised for its fine preparation of famous Chettinad dishes, has enjoyed immense popularity among food connoisseurs in Oman, especially the expats and westerners. With a track record of 30 years of successful operations in the Sultanate, it prides in being the ideal family restaurant that not only excels in food, but also in its service that comes straight from the heart. Little wonder then, that it won the 'Best Service Award' 5 times, Best Indian Restaurant 2011 & Best South Indian Cuisine Award for 2013 & 2014. Currently, the restaurant operates in the Central Business District, Muscat.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Excellent service and cuisine. Thank you all for making our meal at your restaurant so good. Highly recommended

Thank gallopinggold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AF-Muscat, General Manager at Woodlands, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your review in Trip Advisor. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your dining experiences at Woodlands Restaurant. Your words of appreciation will inspire our team to strive for further excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Management Team Woodlands Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

Visited Woodlands with a group of friends for dinner, and was looking forward to it after hearing so many good things. It really didn't disappoint. The food was excellent, as was the service and atmosphere. We decided not to order off the menu, and asked the chef to make us their recommendations. As we were a large group, this meant we had a range of dishes to share. All were delicious. My particular favorite was the cauliflower starter. I've always found cauliflower a bit so-so, but this was really special - somehow it was crispy, and was served in a sweet tangy sticky sauce. Very unusual, would recommend. The spiced nuts were also delicious. Will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank embremner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AF-Muscat, Director of Sales at Woodlands, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your review in Trip Advisor. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your dining experiences at Woodlands Restaurant. Your words of appreciation will inspire our team to strive for further excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Management Team Woodlands Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

I went here with my vegetarian girlfriend and they had a wide variety of options for both of us. Also, the atmosphere is very nice but it is a little more expensive than the hole in the wall Indian restaurant.

Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AF-Muscat, General Manager at Woodlands, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your review in Trip Advisor. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your dining experiences at Woodlands Restaurant. Your words of appreciation will inspire our team to strive for further excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Management Team Woodlands Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

We dined here after a walk around Ruwi, as it was near our hotel. The food was fine, if a little heavy and it was busy, beer as you would expect ( probably because it is licensed!). It was extremely noisy, full of expats of all nationalities, some in large groups.....which made it difficult to have a conversation. Staff were pleasant but a little unorganized I felt. Ok but there are far better places to eat in Muscat.

Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AF-Muscat, General Manager at Woodlands, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank for taking time to post your review in trip Advisor. We acknowledge your valuable feed back which can only help us to improve our quality of food and service in future.
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back and assure you of our continued efforts to provide our valued guests with a wonderful dining experience always

Kind regards

The Management Team Woodlands Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

This is one of the oldest fine dining restaurants in Oman. It is named after the famous Woodlands chain of India but has no relation with them at present times.
This place is a licensed bar serving a wide selection.
This place offers a wide variety of dishes but is better known for the Chettinad cuisine.
We ordered Idli Sambhar (3 pieces of Idli in the portion), Rasa Vada (2 pieces of Vada in the portion), Kerala style Chicken stew with Appam and Appam with Muttai Kulambu (Chettinad Egg Masala) - one portion had 3 whole boiled eggs and Rasam with steamed white rice. One order of Appam is a single Appam.
All the dishes were well prepared and tasty.
Cost wise it can be placed in the higher end of middle segment.
Service is extremely courteous and the waiters are knowledgeable and helpful.
Parking is still available in plenty.
Should be visited, whether for North Indian cuisine or their famous Chettinad cuisine.

Thank devil5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AF-Muscat, General Manager at Woodlands, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your review in Trip Advisor. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your dining experiences at Woodlands Restaurant. Your words of appreciation will inspire our team to strive for further excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Management Team Woodlands Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woodlands also viewed

Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 

Been to Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing