We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sultan's Armed Forces Museum
Open today: 13:30 - 07:30
Save
Review Highlights
Outstanding

This is a cracking museum with as much to see outside as there is inside. Firstly, get there early... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Darron1970
,
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Excellent and a must visit!!

I decided to visit this place on a recommendation and was so pleased I did! The museum is only open... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
PeterGarrett78
,
Abingdon, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 168 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Muscat
from US$80.00
More Info
from US$70.00
More Info
from US$80.00
More Info
from US$31.50
More Info
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
104
51
12
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
51
12
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews omani history military vehicles personal guide royal guard military base al falaj naval officer air force interested in military history old cars equipment including ex army from room to room recent history cooler months great history entry fee
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

If you are interested in military history or equipment this is a good place to visit though most people I spoke to including our taxi driver did not seem too sure of its existence or location.

It costs 1 Omani riyal each to go in and a serving member of the Omani forces escorts you around (whether you like it or not). We had a sergeant who didn't say a word to us but just hovered all the time. I'd much rather just wander around on my own but you don't get a choice.

The exhibits are in an old 2 storey fort and it's very well done although not all the labels on the exhibits are accurate. Outside are the vehicles, airplanes and ship (yes, they have a gunboat in a sort of dry dock there).

Overall, if you're in the area and have a couple of hours to spare, I'd recommend this place.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Wellsy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

A lovely setting provided a fun couple of hours for my children. A personal guide to the museum is provided (as part of the 1 OMR ticket price!), and obviously there is a 'set tour' but I liked the fact our guide asked what we wanted to see and allowed us to tailor our visit. The outside displays include wheeled and tracked military vehicles, artillery pieces and even a small naval vessel, providing a great opportunity for kids to run round, look and touch.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank SingaporeJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

This is a fascinating museum, providing an overview of recent Omani history as well
As showcasing the Armed Forces.
A young Naval officer showed us around and was the highlight of our visit, providing a window into Oman with courtesy and pride. Highly recomended

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Unic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Very well worth visiting an interesting summary of Oman’s history and their armed forces. Lots of planes, tanks and even a ship. We were made very welcome by a naval officer with an extensive knowledge of languages.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Great place to visit in Muttrah. Watch out for their opening hours because they're limited. They provide you a personal military guide who will walk you through the whole museum. All aspects of the history of Oman and its military are very well displayed throughout many rooms. There are outdoor displays of everyday military life and bigger military equipment (planes, tanks, ships). You can also see the Cadillac limo used by His Majesty the Sultan. The small entrance fee is well worth it. You need at least 2 hours to see all the exhibits. The museum is run by Omanese military personel in a professional way. Recommended for everyone.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank latawiec2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews