We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
CheapTickets
ZenHotels.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
167
39
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
167
39
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sugar apple inn friendship bay the kitchen dollar bus beautiful island other guests home away from home own cooking main town lovely pool fantastic stay rented a car spacious rooms laid back bequia port beaches
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2020

Beautiful place, stayed here with friends in late February. Stunning surroundings, lovely pristine beach just a few minutes walk away. Airy, spacious rooms all beautifully decorated. All staff extremely friendly and helpful. Wonderful pool to cool off in. Would definitely recommend and also stay here again. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Mollydlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2020 via mobile

Had another fantastic stay here, great location.....clean and modern rooms, friendly and helpful staff and of course a lovely pool. Just a short walk down to beach if you prefer that or a short drive to other beaches and restaurants. Highly recommend the Sugarapple Inn.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Edwinamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2020

We have been enjoying an annual trip to Sugarapple Inn for approximately eight years now and it seems like our second home. In recent years we have stayed in one of the beach cottages - it is so convenient and comfortable and the view is wonderful. The decor is bright and tropical, the unit is roomy, the view is beautiful and the sounds of the ocean are very peaceful. The kitchen is fully equipped and we choose to do most of our own cooking. We agree with other guests who have written reviews that the best thing about this property is the wonderful staff. They are competent, friendly, and go the extra mile to make sure that the guests are taken care of. They will make reservations for tours or restaurants, arrange for cabs, look for lost items, suggest local things to do and even gave us rides to church! In addition, the rates are very reasonable.

The walk into Port Elizabeth is about a mile and the "dollar bus" (costs $1.50 per person) only takes a few minutes so we have never rented a car on Bequia.

One suggestion - we bring our own shampoo, conditioner and lotion, We also bring simple condiments like salt, pepper, and a couple of herbs that we like.

Note - Bequia is not for everyone. Those looking for glitz, glamor, entertainment, gambling, etc. will most likely not be happy here. Bequia is a pristine, quiet, relaxing, laid back, comfortable, slow-paced, small, beautiful island. The TV reception is iffy, the wifi is iffy, but Friendship Bay is a beautiful place to read, relax, and recharge your "inner batteries" while enjoying almost perfect weather. We can't wait until our next trip!

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2019

Comfortable, a/c, interior spacious and private; friendly staff, nice continental breakfast, pool and walk to beautiful Friendship Bay beach, easy to get to from main town/Port of Elizabeth, parking area; we will definitely come again, covered living room space beautifully furnished could be used for a reception for a wedding or gathering, see the photos (holiday decor was added!)

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sunnrray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sugarappleinn, General Manager at Sugarapple Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2020

Dear Sunnrray, thank you for your stay at the Sugarapple Inn and for your review.
Happy to hear that you had a good stay and hope that you find the time to visit us again soon.

Lionel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2019 via mobile

The Sugarapple inn is a little hidden gem. Even though it's not huge, they have great rooms all with ensuite and kitchenette including some beach front. What makes a place is the ambience and the staff and at Sugarapple the staff make the difference always willing to go that extra mile. There is a good size pool and a large covered area with loungers to relax in. They do a great breakfast of local breads and cakes and home made jam /jelly which is complementary. For a small charge you can order eggs or omelettes anyway you like them, pancakes and bacon or sausage. My favorite was the French toast made with local spices which gave us a true taste of the caribbean. We will be back.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank caribblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sugarappleinn, General Manager at Sugarapple Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2019

Caribblu, greetings and thanks for you stay at the Sugarapple Inn and for your review. Happy to hear that you had a good stay and hope that you come to visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews