We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ben Lui Loch Awesome”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ben Lui

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
77 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Loch Awe, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

SusieG316
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ben Lui Loch Awesome”
Reviewed 26 October 2019 for a stay in October 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic little chalet on a well appointed site. Was clean, warm and had everything we needed. Site was quiet, had access onto the loch and was dog friendly. It's not centre parcs, but if it was you'd pay 10 x as much, be surrounded by people and probably be charged for the view. I dont want a 55inch TV and remote control microwave when I go on holiday, I go for the location and access to things I want to do, that's why I give this spot 5 stars.

Date of stay: October 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
22 Nov 2019
Hi Susie.
Thanks so much for your kind review and for appreciating our little cabin.
We hope you come and visit again.
Best wishes.
Kev & Sikha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
654kirsty...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic ”
Reviewed 12 October 2019 for a stay in May 2019
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful week in a beautiful place the views were amazing the cabin was beautiful everything u needed clean and tidy just beautiful would definitely book to go again

Date of stay: May 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
5 Nov 2019
Hi Kristy,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.
We really appreciate you choosing to stay at Ben Lui especially as you had such a long journey.
We look forward to your return visit.
Best wishes,
Kev & Sikha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloodybor...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cabin, Beautiful area”
Reviewed 9 October 2019 for a stay in September 2019
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I have now stayed at this cabin twice. Once was for a long weekend with family and the second time was for our recent holiday when we stayed for a full week. The cabin was perfect both times! We arrived to find it well supplied with the basics you might need for getting by (toilet paper, washing up liquid, new sponges etc) and a bottle of prosecco and some chocolates which was a nice personal touch which we very much appreciated.
The cabin was very clean and tidy when we arrived (even the oven looked brand new) and was easy to stay on top of while we were there, so it wasn't much effort to clean up after our selves when we left. The location itself is perfect and very peaceful, the banks of the beautiful Loch Awe are only a short walk from the cabin and there are plenty of local walking trails nearby. If you've not been before, the owners have left a helpful folder for guests which includes a very good and up to date map of the local area and some instructions on how to operate things like the log burner. The owners have put a lot of thought into what you might like to do or need when you get there and the extra effort they put in was appreciated.
We would both recommend this cabin to anyone wanting a break in or around Loch Awe, the cabin is compact but has everything that you need and gets very cosy when the nights are cold and the log burner is lit! We will 100% be booking again to come to this cabin, its has now become our go to destination when we want a good walking holiday or a relaxing break away when peace and quiet is needed. 10/10 from us.

Date of stay: September 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
5 Nov 2019
Hi And thanks for taking the time to leave such a lovely review.
So glad you enjoyed your stay and for choosing us for your special occasion.
Hope you come back and visit again.
Best Wishes,
Kev & Sikha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gizmo2485
Motherwell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Un-expected experience not like our first stay, standards have dropped!!!!”
Reviewed 7 September 2019 for a stay in September 2019
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived at the ben lui log cabin and received a note from the owners saying that they were not able to do what they wanted too the cabin before we arrived. Much to our horror we soon figured out what this note was meaning. All regarding hygiene problems. Mainly dirty toilet (poo stains all over the top of the pan hardened on) dirty fridge, dirty dishes put away in the cupboards, very messy un made beds (top bunk in the living room was so messy we thought some one was sleeping under the duvet for a minute) leak from the toilet bowl strong stench of urine had to keep mopping up, cigarette doubts and rubbish in the garden, tea bags rubbish and cigarette ends in the log burner from previous guests, poor presentation skills on a lot of noticeable areas around the cabin dirty mirrors, dirty windows and patio door, could go on but wont bother. so on arrival on the first night of my holiday i had to clean. i am a cleaner at work and im not impressed you go on holiday to have a break, not clean a strangers poo off the toilet,, cabin was not to an acceptable standard in my professional opinion of a holiday accommodation. I have vasts amounts of experience within this sector. The owners left a bottle of wine and short bread beside the note as an attempt for us to over look the condition of the cabin. and to be honest we were willing to do this as last time it was perfect. this was our second stay. But after receiving an email from the owners today complaining about firewood and apparent dog hair found behind the sofa i am unwilling to over look this now and and have decided to let everyone know standards have slipped. PLEASE REFER TO MY PREVIOUS REVIEW OF THIS LOG CABIN IN MAY 2019 PARTICULARLY THE OWNERS RESPONSE TO HOW CLEAN THE CABIN WAS LEFT AND THE EXCELLENT CONDITION THEY FOUND IT IN AFTER OUR STAY. Today we received a complaint from the owners via email about, doggy bags being used. which i replaced with blue doggy bags (owners please look under sink). apparent dog hair behind the sofa, are guests expected to pull out the sofa (im supposed to be on holiday not at work) and clean behind it before they leave. when reasonable standards of hygiene cant be met by the owners at a simple guest change over. (poo stains come on :-(. Just thought i would mention the owners have a husky. i suppose there no chance thats were the dog hair came from or another guests dog. we spent 2 hours cleaning this cabin out of respect and knowing the owner was going to be arriving that afternoon after a 350 mile drive. I would not dream of ever leaving any holiday accommodation in bad condition after my stay. i feel offended and disappointed that ive had such an unfair response from kev and sikia . I didn't want to leave a poor review of any business but this is needed. The owner wanted us to give them more money for fire wood we left payment for 1 day. we felt this was fair as it was used well on one full day. they then challenged this due to the usage of fire lighters which was used in our BBQ not the log burner. (we left a packet of fire lighter we purchased out of respect). The owner also wanted us to amend payment for our dog and we didn't out of principle. they said they knew we had a dog as they're was dog hair in the hoover. that could of been from anyone's dog. this comment is ridiculous. I did have my dog but cleaned so well a payment would of been un-necessary and out of principle due to the condition the cabin was found in on arrival i did not make this payment. I made this payment in kind by cleaning on arrival and departure. I would of expected the owners to overlook this regarding the amount me and my partner were willing to overlook. but did not hence the review. I am disappointed in the response i have received and will not be returning to ben lui and would not recommend this cabin standards have slipped, no gratitude for respecting there property was shown, un hygienic and unprofessional customer service. This cabin is most likley one of the cheapest log cabins to rent but the price does reflect the space and the amenities very basic. If the guests are expected to pull out the sofa and clean up after previous guests you would be as well going camping its less work.

Date of stay: September 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
10 Sep 2019
Thank you for taking the time to leave a second review.
I am sure if the cabin was in such a state you would not have written after your stay and requested to stay again next year.
We wrote to you to ask if you wished to amend your wood and dog payment (as you had used a huge amount of wood for 1 days payment )
and clearly had a dog by the evidence presented.
And if not we requested you not to try and re book again as other cabins may be better suited to your needs

We have to charge guest for fire wood as explained many times and are happy to trust guest to pay £5 per day to cover cost and time in providing it .
Your review states you did have a dog and withheld payment on principal, We welcome dogs a Ben Lui but there is an additional cleaning charge of £10 which you were aware of..
We do understand it is difficult to be asked to not try to re book a cabin you were clearly very keen to revisit but given the option to make good you have chosen not to.
We hope you find somewhere more suitable to you needs
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2019 for a stay in August 2019
3
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Sep 2019
Hi And thanks for the review, We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you visit again.
Thanks also for the tip on the bathroom shelf, i will be sure to fit one and i will look out for the cooker instructions, sorry you if they were not to hand.
Thanks again and best wishes,
Kev & Sikha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.