We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
47
45
12
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
45
12
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terrace room anti mosquito sofa bed beach club next door vegetarian breakfast next morning one night helpful service extra person transit hotel within walking distance recommend this hotel return journey arrival at the airport family room construction noise night stay
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Clean, well-maintained, my room had views through the trees of the ocean. When asked, they arranged airport transfer for $7 each way. They were very courteous, helpful and the room was great, especially for the price. They also provided breakfast in the morning on the beach, facing the ocean. It was a nice touch.

I gave this a 5 star review because they really exceeded expectations for the price of the hotel. There were minor things that would have brought my review to 4 star if it was a $350 a night place.

All in, if you have a quick layover before or after heading to other islands, I️ give this spot a big thumbs up - everything is in walking distance, restaurants, beach, even a cinema.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank JennFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planktons, General Manager at Planktons Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Hi Jenn, Thank you so much for your review and rating, it was such a pleasure for us to serve you during your stay with us. Hope you will have another chance to stay with us in a near future...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

The arrangement for airport transfers was handled very well by the hotel. The hotel representative holding a placard with the hotel name was waiting outside. The transfer cost US$5 per person per trip.

We arrived at Maldives at 22:15 pm and chose this hotel for its proximity to the airport. It was a 10-minute ride to the hotel. On arrival, we were freshen up with a face towel, and a fruit drink. We were given rooms on the 2nd floor.

There is no elevator in this hotel. We took the stairs while 2 porters carried our luggage. The porters left happily with a tip, without showing us the workings of the room.

The room had a double bed and a sofa bed that can fit 3 guests. There are 2 wide windows with thick curtains. We closed the curtains for privacy. One of the windows, faces a common corridor and a common balcony. There are 3 chairs and a table at the balcony overlooking the beach. This small balcony is shared by the 3 rooms on the 2nd floor.

There are 2 bottled waters, some instant coffee & tea and an electric kettle. There are enough electrical sockets in the room. One of the wall sockets has an adopter but it was faulty when we tried to boil water. Strangely, another socket was located high above the dressing mirror, almost to the ceiling (see picture).

The bathroom has a hair drier and a small bottle of body wash. The body wash has a coconut oil fragrance. There is no shampoo. There is no toothbrush. There is no toothpaste.

The air-con was faulty. It was not cold. No matter how we adjusted the room was quite hot. As it was late and only for 1 night, we decided not to make a fuss and slept without our shirts.

Complimentary breakfast was served at the beach. We were served cornflakes with milk, toast with jam & butter, an egg, 2 hotdogs, some olives and a plate of fruits. Drinks were orange juice, coffee or tea.

For a price, there is also a buffet spread of 4 dishes.

We were bitten by mosquitoes while having breakfast. A kind waiter gave us some anti-mosquito repellent to use on our exposed arms and limbs.

We were amazed by the beach in front of the hotel. It was beautiful and surprisingly clean. A beach club at the hotel provides watersport activities and tours. There are more hotels along the beach offering similar activities.

There is a souvenir shop and 2 minimarts behind the hotel.

As we walked further down, the beach was noticeably dirtier with trash but the sea was still beautiful (see picture).

The return transfer to the airport cost US$5 per person per trip. It was smooth journey and the day view was scenic (see picture). The hotel representative escorted us from the carpark to the correct booth for our transfer to the resort.

This is a decent hotel and they did a wonderful job in liaising with the destination resort for our transfer. Kudos for the good service.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank romgozaimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planktons, General Manager at Planktons Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you for your review and a very detailed description of your experience with us. We hope that you have enjoyed the services that we have provided and see you soon in the Maldives...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We stayed here for the weekend for short family outing. Very friendly and helpful staffs, beautifully appointed rooms with air condition, wi-fi, TV with satellite channels, safety box, good selection of room/bathroom amenities. Room was very clean and spotless. The beach is just opposite the place and shops and cafes are just nearby. Really amazing place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper terrace has amazing privacy and views
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuaas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planktons, General Manager at Planktons Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We would love to serve you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay at Planktons beach! It is a beautiful, clean accomodation that is right on the beach. The breakfast on the beach was so beautiful and we we extremely impressed with the service from all the staff. Would 100% recommend!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank angiet623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planktons, Manager at Planktons Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Hi Angie, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We would love to see you again in the Maldives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights and really appreciated the outstanding service. The manager is very warm and welcoming, and the Maldivian breakfasts were delicious. The staff was really attentive and treated you like family. The price was very reasonable as well. The only thing we did not like was the chemical smell in our room, I believe it was due to the new furniture.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planktons, Manager at Planktons Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Hi Helen, Thank you very much for writing a wonderful feedback about your experience with us. We would love to share this with our team. We hope to see you again in the Maldives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews