We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stocksbridge, South Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Xxpgsis
Westlake Village, California
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Who would go to Barnsley for a holiday? With accommodation like this, anyone might. The cottage was immaculate and comfortable, and the location a hidden gem. With a little internet research you can find lots of good walking in the neighborhood, through fields and woodland to open moor. In less than an hour's drive you can be in pretty much any tourist destination in the northern end of the Peak District, from Bakewell to Edale. This means you can have a national park vacation at a fraction of the cost of renting inside the Park. The cottage was ideal for us to attend a nearby wedding and make family visits in South Yorkshire as well as providing a cozy base for a country vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquil, historic property
Liked least: Traffic in the lane
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“2nd Visit”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed here a few years ago in the winter and we were very comfortable. Our second stay in spring was just as good as the first. Outside was a riot of spring colour and was beautiful, plenty of pots and troughs and borders packed with plants. The scones, jam etc was a nice touch and we enjoyed them after a long journey. Though the cottage is small it has everything you need and is a great base to stay. It has comfortable furnishings and a nice big bed and shower cubicle. We parked the car for 3 days and walked the local area as there are many nearby which we managed despite the weather. The Stockbridge walking website has lots of walks that are printable with very good directions. Our only downside this time was the the internet was very erratic and not available a lot of the time but as we were there only 3 days it was not a major problem but we did report it before we left.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and views
Liked least: The hill when walking unto the property!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2016
It is wonderful to hear that your second visit to Underbank Hall Cottage was just as great as your first, with the added bonus of those spring blooms of course! It sounds like you took a holiday from your car also, how refreshing to be able to leave it behind and explore the area on foot! We certainly hope that you return again and again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJD C
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Relaxation Paradise”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I needed a break from the London area and so booked a week at Underbank Hall Cottage from a Friday to a Friday. We drove up on the Friday night and only arrived at about midnight to find a beautiful stone cottage wonderfully appointed. There were fresh scones with butter and home-made jam and a tea tray laid out for us. We forwent those and cracked open a bottle of wine, turned on the electric 'wood-burning' stove and allowed the peacefulness to wash over us.

The following day, after a night spent in a very comfortable bed, we got to explore the cottage. It has everything that one could want: fitted kitchen with fridge (and small freezer shelf), dishwasher, quality matching crockery, glasses and flatware, microwave, gas cooker, washer/dryer combo. All of this in a lovely downstairs room. Upstairs is a huge bedroom with armoire with real hangers and a fantastic bathroom with deep tub and a huge separate shower unit with great pressure.

We met the owner who said we were younger than most of her guests (we are mid 40s) and she invited us to wander the grounds which are manicured and beautiful. The cottage is next to the main house but you wouldn't know it and we felt completely alone and peaceful.

We really couldn't be happier with our choice.

We visited Stocksbridge once and found it a bit dismal but Penistone is about 3 miles in the other direction and is a delightful village with a lovely bistro (with great vegetarian options) and a couple of nice pubs. Ye Olde Mustard Pot is also recommended.

There was nothing not to like about this place. Very highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very well appointed, superbly peaceful
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouandMic...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday cottage”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned from a wonderful stay at Underbank Cottage. The cottage is situated in the beautiful grounds of Underbank Hall, which features a walled garden and woodland along with beautifully tended lawns and flowerbeds. The cottage is delightfully furnished and well equipped with everything you may need during your stay. Car parking is just a few yards away. The owners had even provided scones and jam and a vase of sweet peas for our arrival. The area is lovely with lots of stunning views and lots of reservoirs and countryside nearby providing scenic walks. I absolutely loved this cottage and will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely grounds the cottage is situated in.
Liked least: There was nothing I liked least about this property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$54
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing