We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eccentric and thought provoking.”
Review of La Vieille Maison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Vieille Maison
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 January 2016

Stay at this 14th Century house, in an ancient hameau with all its contemporary and ancient embellishments, and the offbeat comfort is to be a character in a short film ansolite. The, unassuming and self-deprecating owner has personally renovated and designed this 'film set', and within the gothic ambiance Helmut produces and serves magical food, aesthetically presented, and served with well considered wines. He knows his combinations well.

Imagine muffled footsteps in the night, though surely such ancient stone could not reveal any sound, but that you imagine in the plot to you help to create?

An ideal rendezvous for friends with whom to share the experience, warmed by an open fire, or walking in the local countryside before a rich dinner.

Not a place for pets.

Room Tip: Check them all out first, if possible.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pugmarks46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for La Vieille Maison
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed her for two nights after being offered a weekend break by friends. We had a meal that was already included in the offer...after reading reviews we didn't hesitate to book the second night meals their too....No regret...the food was absolutely amazing....down to the finest detail....mouth watering. The host Helmut was very very professional very discret, but on hand if needed. Breakfast was also a delight. The setting is magical, a real place to relax and unwind in beautiful surroundings. Would we go back? Oh Yes, infact didn't want to leave !!!!
What a wonderful little paradise.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed one night, turned up at 7pm with no reservation and fortunately there was a room free. The host downplayed the evening meal prepared at short notice, which turned out to be fantastic food from start to finish. Breakfast was a further feast.

The location is quiet, rural and has great views. Rooms are simple, clean and the whole place has a relaxed and tranquil feel.

Very nice! I would go again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JS4475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Although we stayed here for only one night, we've been talking about it ever since. The house itself is just gorgeous - the deco is fabulous, but it still feels relaxed, comfortable and welcoming. Our rather eccentric and taciturn host nonetheless provided us with a wonderful evening meal, with course after course surprising and delighting us. Breakfast the next morning was a lavish affair - with homemade yoghurt, fresh fruit, berries and nuts.
If you're looking for something a bit different, a bit special, that will stay with you for years to come, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScullyA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durfort-et-Saint-Martin-de-Sossenac
7.9 km away
Hotel Les 3 Barbus
Hotel Les 3 Barbus
#1 of 1 in Generargues
148 reviews
6.9 km away
Hotel Restaurant La Porte des Cevennes
6.1 km away
Hotel Le Domaine de La Regaliere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Hotel de la Madeleine
Hotel de la Madeleine
#5 of 6 in Anduze
40 reviews
32.2 km away
Chateau d'Arpaillargues
Chateau d'Arpaillargues
#1 of 1 in Arpaillargues
402 reviews
12.7 km away
L'Oronge
L'Oronge
#6 of 6 in Saint-Jean-du-Gard
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vieille Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vieille Maison

Address: Valensole, 30170 Durfort-et-Saint-Martin-de-Sossenac, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Durfort-et-Saint-Martin-de-Sossenac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Durfort-et-Saint-Martin-de-Sossenac
Price Range: €58 - €111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Vieille Maison 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is an ancient silkfactory in well balanced proportions, located in the countryside at the borders of the cevennes mountains, in a small dale of absolutecalm, encircled with woods. From this old stonehouse opens a wonderful view into the valley and on the Cevennes mountains surroundings. Tracks invite to walks and to discover the rocks and neighbouring dales. Across a long arch in stones where, every year, the swallows come to build their nests of loam, its entrance leads us up to the inner covered courtyard,.- Here it is nice sit down in the shade and dine the charming athmosphere of candlelights the evenings on thursday through su das at 8:30 pm when you might taste the surprise gourmet diner of our halte gourmande. diner in 4 courses without drinks at thé prince of 49 € per person From here you can attain the garden of natural garrigues wildernes with its olive- and fruit trees. From the courtyard you have also acces to the balcony covered with the wizzeria and to the ancient part of guesthouse with its rooms and dining facilities for the wintertime, as the spacious living room with its chemny . The terrace on the roof gives you another place encircled with the hundred-year-old acien wisteria to rest or taste thé diner terroir de notre halte gourmande. Guests dispose also the living rooms with ancient chemny, dining room. Places to visit are the bambusforest and small steamtrain from anduze to st jean du gard,the national park of cevennes mountains, throats of the herault, ardeche and Tarn, various caves-lesdemoiselles, trabuc, darguignan etc, the mediteranean sea and its beaches as small old grec or romain towns, le pont du gard, Avignon, Montpellier and Nimes, the summer festivals of dance, theatre or music. In renovanting this ancient farmhouse of 1481 we respected well its serenity and the aspects of ecological building. We do have now a solar system to heat the water, our electricity is 100 % renewable you'll find in all areas works of actual art. all our rooms are prepared with love and creativté. we hold that all preparations beds, sheets, towels provide an open atmosphere and and a warm welcome in the quiet of the valley and the serenity of our former silkworm. in summer we suggest fans to cool off and fall season, winter and spring we offer a constant heating where the old and thick walls reflect the heat as in the cold winter evenings the fire in the old fireplace. Our halte gourmande offers you fine gourmet food and dining in a spacial athmosphere the evenings from wednesday through sunday at 8:30 pm only on reservation basis (wine excluded) at the prince of 49 € € per person. We prepare also special menus for the Saint valentins day or easter, Pentecost, day of celebrations as Christmas and the new years eve and new year at the price of 89 € (without drinks) per person on thoses spécial days you can choose between the diner at 49€ and the diner at 89€ for the spécial dîners the Reservation should be received t l'est 7 days before you can réserve per phones or on our internet-site we offer also: gift vouchers on our Internet site Relaxation stays with massages. 365 € (All inclusif) gourmet stays 320 € (all inclusif) feast banquet stays 320 € (all inclusif) promotions: 3 nights for the price of 2 or Lastminute offers from 20 till 50% on the price of our guestrooms with breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your La Vieille Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing