We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go in three years time!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Piercebridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Go in three years time!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

The George is a hotel which makes it's money as a wedding venue. It has a spectacular riverside setting. We stayed one night whilst visiting relatives in the area. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was very good. That's where the positives end. Although our room was spacious it was very dirty and there was no toilet role inthe bathroom. Poor attention to detail. Apart from the refurbished ballroom the hotel needs a serious makeover or at the very least a top to bottom clean!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    150
    69
    36
    32
See reviews for
124
234
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

The George is ok at best and sub par in the main, i stayed one night and must say that as a regular visitor to the area i think there is better value to be had elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nasjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
603 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

This hotel is in a great location, close to the river tees in alittle village just off the Darlington to Barnard Castle Road (A67) It is a good hotel but has the potential to be excellent.

A small group of us stayed at the hotel for DB&B and a meeting the next day.

For what we paid it was a great experience. The rooms are great although as others have said they are quite lowly lit.

Nice bar area with good choice of drinks and hand pulled beer (always a good sign!) Our evening meal was good with a varied menu. Staff where great and attentive but a few difficult moments could have been easily avoided with some basic training (e.g. understand the menu).

Breakfast was superb with great choice including salmon/scrambled eggs, kippers (which were superb!)

Certainly a place on the up and no hesitation in revisiting.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catterick Garrison
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

We had our first Zumba Christmas Party at the George Hotel in Piercebridge Friday 25th November, the Hall was lovely decorated in red and white, balloons on the tables etc, we had an excellant carvery meal, 3 choices of meat and plenty of it,, lots of vegetables etc, excellant value for money, I would like to thank the management and staff who helped make it a brilliant night, would definately recommend this venue for a party.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We went to The George last night for my husbands birthday. We have been before and loved the place. The menu has changed and more like a gatro pub than a restuarant. We had to wait 30 minutes between course. Went to order the steak and was advised that they had sold out this was only 8pm. When the food eventually appeared it was ok but not what I would have expected from a nice resturarant. We asked the waiter who bearly spoke any english) if the desserts contain nuts as I have an allergy after twenty minutes of waiting he came back and said that they didn't know as the desserts were bought in. I found this disgusting and alarming, We used to love this place but we will never, ever go back it was absolutely awful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vict0ria2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piercebridge
3.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
34.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
9.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 km away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
32.0 km away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
4.5 km away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Piercebridge DL2 3SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Piercebridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Piercebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Piercebridge
George Hotel Darlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing