We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
94
63
10
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
63
10
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mata mata working farm palm trees the cottages kgalagadi transfrontier park one night outside area green oasis excellent food a wonderful stay vegetable garden cows being milked beautiful place the main lodge gondwana fireplace dinner
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2015

We stayed at the Kalahari Farmhouse in February 2015 and we had a great stay. We were welcomed very friendly, had a relaxing afternoon at the pool and enjoyed a great 4 course dinner menu. The service was excellent and the food delicious. In the morning we got fresh baked croissants, bread and nice fresh farm eggs. The young lady from the cheese making factory gave us a tour through the cheese making factoring, butchery and their huge gardens. We enjoyed it a lot.
The only two things what irritated us was that the outside light of the main house was on all night and therefor shining into our room and there were no moskitonets but hundreds of moskitos on our room. So we had to sleep with the aircon, which we usually don't do and don't like.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aileen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Kalahari Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2015

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate all feedback and have forwarded your feedback to the lodge so that it can help us improve our customer service in the future. Kind regards, Katrin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2015

It looks beautiful on the internet. However it is their policy (according to the manager) to book families into their family units (unit 1 to unit 3). Unfortunately the units are a far cry from what is shown on the internet. The units look like old run down flats. The units open onto the farm scrapyard and not the beautiful garden shown on the internet. The assistant manager was unaccommodating to move us to what we have booked "Two units as shown on the internet". This led to a huge fight and the assistant manager that indicated that we cannot have three beds in one of the rooms as shown on the internet as "they do not carry around beds at the Kalahari farmhouse" I indicated that we will move the beds ourselves and after a heated argument where she still refused the junior staff assisted us. After dinner the evening one of the waiters was reprimanded in front of us in such a manner that she burst into tears. I confronted the manager and indicated to him that the waiter was not at fault and acted according to our request. Our children were in tears about the way the waiter was treated. To the junior staff and waiters I just want to say you are great. Management can learn quite a bit from you about client service and the hospitality industry!

What was supposed to be a family treat at the Kalahari Farmhouse turned out to be a nightmare. I have never seen this rude behavior from management anywhere in the word in all our travels.

A few observations:
1. If you get the rooms as shown on the internet it is great and wonderful atmosphere - the gardens are really special - but if you are a family booking two units I doubt if you will be so lucky
2. No bar fridge in the room
3. Wifi never worked and according to staff has not worked for quite some time (misleading advertising)
4. No burglar bars in front of the windows - we felt very unsafe at night
5. You park quite a distance from your room and luggage must be carried to your room. You also worry about the safety of your car because it is so far away and in a dark car park.
6. Dinner and breakfast was great (except for the rude treatment of waiters by management)

I would not recommend families to stay here.

Room Tip: I would not recommend families to stay here as you will not get the rooms that are shown on the internet but run down flats with a view of the farm scrapyard.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelH007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Kalahari Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2015

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and making us aware of the things that have stood out for you. We appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests as we believe this is the best way to improve our customer service and the stay of our guests at the lodge. We apologise for any inconvenience caused to you and your family. Kind regards, Katrin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2014

This is a very nice place to stay overnight.
After a long drive we enjoyed to have a lovely cottage nicely furnitered, and alos the relaxing pool with the bar
They provided a delicious dinner and very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank georgw280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2014 via mobile

Please do not miss this place. From the gorgeous little farmhouse cottages to the fabulous bar, friendly staff and wonderful food, this is an experience not to be missed. The garden oasis in the desert is quite something else. I give this place ten out of ten.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2014

Staff of the Kalahari Farmhouse have done everything to make our stay a wonderful experience. The cabins were very nice. The dinner was excellent. All that in an oasis like domain, with beautiful trees. We felt “at home”.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kees W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews