We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
58
1
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
1
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hen party family business delicious dinner special occasion organic food perfect location couldn't fault couldn't do enough star quality afternoon tea short break immediate family from start to finish wedding venue the barn wedding reception the cottages
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2015

I highly recommend this place.
We went for a weekend retreat and teaching. We were a group of 12 people and stayed for 2 nights.
It was so easy to deal with Lucille and Bernie. They were always helpful and provide us all what we need to have a great retreat weekender.
Beautiful place, the rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. Superb organic food and outstanding service.
Thanks to Lucille, Bernie and family. You are great. We really had a great time and we hope to see you soon.
Thank you!!!!

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabiola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coolanowle, Guest Relations Manager at Coolanowle Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2015

Thanks so much Fabiola for taking to time to write this lovely review. I am glad we made the booking process easy and that you all enjoyed your retreat weekend and ambiance and of course our organic meals! If you are planning any more retreats in the future we would be delighted to accommodate you all again so please don't hesitate to contact us for a quote!

Warm Regards,
Lucille & Bernadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

We had a lovely weekend at coolanowle country house for a friend's wedding.

The venue is ideal for a relaxed laidback wedding. We stayed one night and the rooms were excellent.

Staff were very friendly and there was no rush to get us out the next morning.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank brendan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coolanowle, Public Relations Manager at Coolanowle Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2015

Many thanks Brendan for taking the time to write your kind review.We are very glad you liked the rooms and most importantly that you enjoyed the wedding venue at Coolanowle Country House!

Warm Regards,
Lucille & Bernadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015

The epitome of Irish hospitality! Warm and welcoming hosts, organic food from their own farm and total tranquillity, but yet only 15 minutes from the bustling town of Carlow.
You have to try this little gem!

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 3995JWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coolanowle, Public Relations Manager at Coolanowle Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2015

Delighted you enjoyed the organic food and of course the tranquil peace and quiet!

If you are every looking for a quiet winter get away in the future please do bear us in mind!

Warm Regards,
Lucille & Bernadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015

This peaceful retreat house was just what we needed for our first night after a long flight from the US. Our host Bernadine and her family were very welcoming and eager to make us comfortable. The family suite was spacious and clean for our family of four. The beds were very comfortable and we had two modern bathrooms. The homemade scones and milk in the frig were a special treat. We enjoyed walking the lovely grounds which included cows and chickens..
Breakfast was wonderful- the best we had during our week in Ireland. It was a full Irish breakfast served graciously with many ingredients directly from the farm. We enjoyed the comfortable dining room and sitting with other guests- sharing travel tips. Our brief stay was a special experience of Irish hospitality for our family that we will always remember.

Room tip: Our family suite had three beds and two bathrooms and a small kitchen.
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peggy296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coolanowle, Owner at Coolanowle Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Many thanks for your kind review Peggy.
You and your family were a pleasure to look after. Delighted to hear that the breakfast was the best you had! What a lovely compliment.
Kind Regards,
Bernadine & Lucille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2015

Stayed for a night prior to Athy triathlon.Quiet, great nights rest and with only being 12k outside of Athy was able to ride in morning of the race.
Owners were helpful and pleasant and up early to cater to those there doing the event.
My wife and wee girl had a leisurely morning and enjoyed the gardens and swing.
Highly recommend and would stay again.
Also our bed was huge, great when you have a child who enjoys snuggles

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kiwini60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coolanowle, Manager at Coolanowle Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2015

Many thanks for your kind review!

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our spacious beds! It was our pleasure to look after you and your lovely family! I hope the triathalon went well after.. Keep us in mind anyhow if you're coming to Tri Athy next year, we'd be delighted to have you stay again.

Warm Regards,
Lucille & Bernadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews