We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (557)
Filter reviews
557 results
Traveller rating
385
121
33
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
121
33
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset beach resortgarden villaour honeymoonpool barkoh samuithai languagefresh fruitbreakfast was excellentsuited us perfectlythai boxingwelcome drinkchoose this hotelpeace and quietevery eveningfive islandsprivate poolchaweng
Filter
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 557 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed a couple of days at Lamai Beach before swapping hotels and beach to the Sunset Beach Resort at Taling Ngam.

Before we stayed at a rather budget accommodation so we wanted to pamper ourselves over the last days of our holiday. We didn't know how remote Taling Ngam was and quickly realized that if we don't want to hire a car there is not much you can do by foot around the area.

The welcome was very friendly and the staff in general was very helpful and super polite to all the time.

Our room was a "Sunset Jacuzzi Room" with lovely traditional Thai interior design a huge bed with sea view and a balcony. The only thing I never understood is why some rooms don't have proper doors to the toilet but that is just a minor setback.

The complex is nicely setup in elegant light colors. Everything is clean and has a calming atmosphere to it. The pool is salt water and great to swim labs even that due to the water temperature it doesn't really give you that refreshing feel.

The beach in Taling Ngam is fairly narrow and not as beautiful as other beaches on Samui. There were also some rocks in the water which made a cool down a bit more tricky.

Culinary we were really pleased as the breakfast selection was big with several freshly pressed juices to chose from, variations of eggs, waffles and cold cuts. The restaurant had some great dishes, like the Tuna Steak and a Coconut Rice to die for. This proofed very important as besides some few other hotels there were no restaurants close by or in walking distance. They also offer romantic dinners at the beach which seemed a bit setup on the narrow piece of sand and other guests still lying on the chairs next to the eating couples so we didn't go for it.

Also appreciated was the cocktail happy hour at sunset which we often made use of during our stay. Delicious.

Overall this is a great clean hotel with friendly staff and restaurants that offer delicious and fresh food as well as great sundowner drinks to a higher price level. Only downside is the beach really.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nik_getmygrubon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSBR, General Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

It was nice to read you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you warmheartedly for the good feedback about the restaurant and staff.
Regarding the beach I actually haven't heard any complains before, quite the opposite. Please also keep in mind this is the only part of the island, this time of year, that is calm without high waves.
Look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
The Sunset Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Not located around the busy part of Samui but that is what adds to the beauty of it. Swift service, good room (we stayed in their jacuzzi suite) with a breathtaking view. A lovely pool area and the best is the evening arrangement for dinner by the sea side. Elaborate breakfast. Food is expensive but the taste makes you forget that. Staff is warm and helpful. Will visit again.

Room Tip: Must stay here for atleast a week, take a scooty to see the town and do not take the speed boat rides for snorkeling, instead scuba dive.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ipshita_Saha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSBR, General Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience and for recommending the resort to future visitors. I am very pleased to read how much you enjoyed the overall stay with us, like the dinning at the sea side, and hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Henrik&Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We were relocated from Elements Boutique Resort, as they had problems with their guest rooms. So this Sunset Beach resort was not originally intended as our holiday in Koh Samui but we were so pleased we had the opportunity to stay in this resort.

Overall décor and design looked outdated, but clean and functional.
Room was spacious and clean, swimming pool was big (30m length), fantastic private beach (though the sea itself was not crystal clear to swim, the beach was lovely), great place to watch the Sunset, very polite and attending staffs. They even make the room twice a day!

We absolutely loved the breakfast buffet, which consisted of many fresh fruit juices, smoothie, lots of tropical fruit, homemade bread, homemade jams, and a lot. I am still missing them back home….

It is true that this is a remote area and no shops are around, but we preferred it for the quiet and relaxing holiday.

There was a nice local restaurant just 3 minutes away where we could see the beautiful sunset with drinks followed by dinner.
The restaurant at the hotel was rather expensive, tourist price.

The only small problem was that sometimes they did not understand English much, and some orders at the restaurant and breakfast got wrong. But it is just minor issue, in comparison to how they care for details.

We would like to come back if we have chance in future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSBR, General Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you wholeheartedly for a very wonderful review. It was a great pleasure for all of us to have you here. Rest-assured that we will make more extra ordinary service for all our guests in the future. We hope to welcome you again to The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I am currently staying here..my last of seven nights. This hotel is lovely and it has the Thai charm and the Swiss perfectionism( even though you are definitely on "island time") We have a lovely beach villa complete with plunge pool/jacuzzi and separate " Thai Sala". Yes, the bathrooms are outside and I must say the BEST hot showers ever! There is nothing to do here but relax and to really unwind, especially if you came from The hustle and bustle of Bangkok. There are a few walking excursions...to local restaurants and the Intercontinental next door but not necessary . The Thai food is lovely ( we are Americans who lived in Bangkok for 8 years..in the past, so we can be quite the critic!) The Traditional Thai massage in the beach was terrific! The Thai staff will not disappoint you...their smiles , their soft and gentle nature are apparent all over this resort!
Again, I love it here but you must come prepared to relax..bring plenty of books, games, iPod, etc.
Will DEFINITELY come again!!! Thank you!

Room Tip: You must be able to appreciate the Thai people and the tropical nature of this resort. IT IS NOT a typical international hotel, so do not expect typical amenities such as movies on demand, American/western food( although these is a little), tour offices, dance shows, casinos, etc. I would highly recommend a VILLA versus a room!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryWilNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSBR, General Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Sawasdee khrap from the The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa! We are absolutely beside ourself with delight that you had such wonderful time here! I have already sent your lovely comments to all staff.
Welcome back any time!
Best regards from all of us at The Sunset Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 3 weeks in January and had a fantastic time. We knew it was fairly isolated but that’s perfect for us. We emailed the hotel prior to arrival and request a high room- they were quick to respond. We had a Sunset Jacuzzi suite on the top floor (room 10) that gave breathtaking views of the sunset from the balcony. Rooms are large enough, cleaned twice a day and the bed comfortable; the toilet is though perhaps a little intimate especially when getting used to the Thai diet! Breakfast is good and available from 0630-1100hrs. Lunch menu is varied and I loved the Caesar Salad. We did find the prices quite high and sometimes the food in the evening was only lukewarm. There are other places to eat near the hotel which are cheaper (see reviews). Henrik the manager is very personable and makes himself known to the guests. All the staff work very hard and have wonderful smiles, I remember in particular Cha in the restaurant, the beautiful Palm, M and Jaew who do the breakfast, Muay and Amp on reception, and best smile was from Nek who helps with the gardens and keeps the sand in order on the beach. The beach was great and so stress free- no having to get up early to get a beach bed, as it is a small hotel, there were always plenty as people who stayed in the Garden or Beach Villas tended to come out later. Forget snorkelling though, as although the water looks clear it is quite cloudy/dusty and the fish are small and timid. We did a boat trip from the hotel to Koh Tan and this was only a bit better. The water though is so warm. The beach is nice to walk along or take one of the kayaks, row for about 20 minutes to the left past the pier, past the 5 Islands restaurant with their green flags on the beach, past the little fishing harbour and you will find deserted coves with the most beautiful sand and utmost privacy. Alternatively take one of the hotel bicycles and the 7/11 is only 15 minutes if you head left out of the hotel, if you go right you will come across a temple with a mummified monk- just leave a donation. We didn’t hire a moped, we saw plenty of skin injuries as a result of accidents, mostly white tourists who haven’t ridden before. The legal age in Thailand to ride is 14, but we saw younger riders and as many as 5 people on 1 moped. We both ride considerably bigger bikes in the UK but just couldn’t risk getting injured. The hotel does do a 100 baht shuttle to Lamai and Nathon, but you have to pay considerably more to get back. It is possible to hire a taxi for 500 baht an hour and do a tour of the whole island. There is free wifi and a computer for guest use. Happy hour for drinks was the same time as the sunset 1700-1830hrs, and the Spa was from 1000-1400hrs I would recommend reflexology and head massage which was good hour and 500 baht..

I’ve given the hotel 5 stars because the staff and service was exceptional and the experience was a great introduction to Thailand, its lovely people and laid back way of life. It was the perfect R and R that we needed from our stressful jobs. My only tips would be take plenty of mosquito spray and a high factor sun cream.

Room Tip: Top floor Sunset Jacuzzi was perfect.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayfly17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSBR, General Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Long Stay Guest, We appreciate you taking the time and writing a comprehensive review. I will pass on all the comments to the staff, so they will be part of this to. Your many reviews, and staying with us for such a long time as three weeks, make us feel very pleased that we exceeded your expectations! I hope comming back to Cornwall was pleasant. We have bought in some mosquito spray and plenty a high factor sun cream for your next visit.
Henrik&Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews