We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Evening”

The Bull's Head Inn Foolow
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Eyam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the Heart of the Peak District, The Bulls Head Inn stands in the picturesque, limestone hamlet of Foolow. Our family-owned pub has been the hub of the area for many years offering tasty local ales, worldwide wines, and spirits, homemade freshly cooked food and a very warm welcome in our 'proper' country pub. Boasting 4 dining areas; Our Stable Room offers a dog friendly place to dine, our flagstone floor bar with crackling log fire is ideal for a quick pint and muddy boots, main dining room for those that want a comfortable sit down 3 courses and when the sun shines, outside is ideal to watch the world go by.
Reviewed 20 June 2021

Went to the Bull's Head Inn in Foolow after driving up to the Peak District and caving all afternoon.

The service from the minute we stepped through the door was warm and welcoming. We had three courses and sent back clean crockery each time - gorgeous food with a few little twists thrown in to make each dish a little bit special.

Tempted to go back every night this week.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DarrellP130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BullsHeadFoolow, General Manager at The Bull's Head Inn Foolow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello DarrellP130,

well we cannot do much better than perfect! Thank you! It gives us a warm fuzzy feeling when our customers enjoy regular visits.
I do hope you visit again next time you are in the area.

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2021 via mobile

Great pub in an idyllic village. Very traditional village pub not messed about serving wonderful food. Had some great Pork Belly and a sticky toffee pudding. Wonderful

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BullsHeadFoolow, General Manager at The Bull's Head Inn Foolow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Ian H,

we think so too! Gorgeous little English Village with a cracking local pub too. Thanks for the review we really do appreciate it.

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2021

We stayed there in June for three nights and highly recommend it. Beautiful room, characterful pub, good food, good background music at the weekend, good seats in the sun outside, very friendly and helpful hosts and stunning walks nearby. Will definitely stay again.

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank michellecV1309KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BullsHeadFoolow, General Manager at The Bull's Head Inn Foolow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi michelleV1309KL,

so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Sunshine too! We love our Village Pub, I am pleased to hear you do too!
See you soon,

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2021

We stayed locally for a long weekend and came here for dinner one evening. Everything we ordered was wonderful - and the wine selection is also really unusual - it's rare to see Romanian wines on a menu but it was a tasty choice.

All the food was excellent - we had three courses and were there for well over two hours; not once did we feel rushed. The steak was beautifully cooked, the brownie wonderful - I couldn't fault anything we ate or drank. The availability of Dingle gin was much appreciated from me also - it was really lovely to have some different drink choices.

By far the best meal out I've had this year ! Felt covid secure and the staff were all lovely and helpful - attentive despite it being pretty full.

One area of the pub is dog friendly and we were offered water for him too.

I can't wait to return !

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Pentala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BullsHeadFoolow, General Manager at The Bull's Head Inn Foolow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Pentala,

wow what a title! Very pleased to hear it too! The Romanian wine is brand new to our list, it is amazing quality at a really great price so I am really pleased to see you enjoyed it.
We are steadily getting back to normal now and it is great to see so many people enjoying themselves.
Long may it continue!
Thanks for taking the time to review.

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2021

Fantastic food and friendly welcoming staff (especially Oliver). We were there Friday and Saturday night. Despite being incredibly busy the food was served really quickly and was great. The landlady (sorry I didn’t get your name) was everywhere. Checking on her guests and helping with the orders. Thanks for making our first trip away from home in a year so memorable

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank VickiM1194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BullsHeadFoolow, General Manager at The Bull's Head Inn Foolow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi VickiM1194,

a delight to read your review. Thank you for taking the time to write to us. I will mention this review to Nikki (the lady you refer to) I am sure she will be delighted with your comments.

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bull's Head Inn Foolow also viewed

 
Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Bull's Head Inn Foolow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.