We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A quaint country cottage hideaway just outside...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Escape

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Snuggle up with our cosy Log Burner! Kitchen as you enter the front door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Snuggle up with our cosy Log Burner!
Kitchen as you enter the front door
Open Plan Living Area
Lounge area.
Upstairs to the bedroom and en suite shower room.
Bedroom
Toilet and Basin
Large walk in Shower
Seating and Loungers in the Orchard.
The Back Garden.
Through the gate to the fields beyond.
The South Downs
The Pub next door.
Cara!
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ringmer, Lewes, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Catherine...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A quaint country cottage hideaway just outside Brighton!”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

A beautiful cosy cottage with all necessary amenities only a few miles outside Brighton.
You truest have the best of both worlds with this property.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2014
Glad you all enjoyed your Holiday at The Escape.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stig_Burt...
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned home from the most beautiful cottage. If we could pick it up and take it with us to wherever we holiday then we would. The situation is lovely in John and Joy's lovely garden overlooking fields, not to mention The Cock Inn next door with consistently fanastic and reasonable food (no noise from here by the way). The staff are friendly and attentive and even remembered our names after the first visit. The cottage itself is beautifully decorated and cleverly designed to make most use of the space. The greens and creams and browns bring the garden into the cottage along with the lovely vase of flowers which awaited us, and the gorgeous cream tea prepared by John. We received a warm welcome from John and Joy, and of course their delightful dog Cara who made a point of staying while we unpacked, just in case we had any questions! The bed was so comfortable we didn't want to get out of it but the sun shone and we simply had to get up for breakfast in the garden. The walk in shower even provided views through the roof window across the fields and the setting sun. In our view it simply can't be improved upon. It is absolutely perfect for couples (although that option isn't available to tick in the choices below). A truly wonderful place and a credit to John and Joy in what they have achieved.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. Cara takes her role as head of customer services, very seriously...especially when she gets sweeties!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pastridge...
Dalgety Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and High Quality”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Plenty big enough for two people. High quality fixtures and fittings - wish I had a bathroom like that!
Fire lit and house warm before we arrived - fresh scones with jam and butter waiting for us. very friendly owner who could not do enough to ensure that we were comfortable. This property was reccommended to us and we have no hesitatation id reccommening it to others

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2014
Thank you for your kind words. I am so glad you enjoyed yourselves. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshine1...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy, lovely and peaceful”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We didn't get a chance to write in the guestbook because we stayed over the Christmas period and needed to get away to the next family venue, but it was the most perfect location for Christmas-ing away from home. Joy made it all so perfect for us with the lovely fire still burning away as we arrived in a terrible Christmas storm, and some mince pies to boot! We were very grateful for the bigger table you provided us with, as well as all the extra plates and cooking pans. We had such a lovely day and were able to host it for my Mum and her partner. The trip was made extra special by Joy and John's dog Cara who came to visit on a few evenings! The location is just superb - we were able to drive into Lewes and Eastbourne very easily and the Cock Inn at the end of the road is not only a superb place to eat and drink, but also an excellent help in finding the road to turn in in the dark! Lovely bedroom area and bathroom too and just right for two people to "Escape" it all. Absolutely loved it and would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Christmas is a special time, so we try to make everything just perfect for our guests.
Cara has been a charge of 'Guest Relations' for some time and we think she is a natural for the job!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueJS_11
Monmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An attractive, well designed, comfortable, well equiped little 'home-from-home'”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This lovely, compact venue is cleverly designed in order to fit in all the facilities you may be liable to need. Although situated in the countryside, it is close enough to Lewes to reach the major supermarkets (Waitrose and Tesco) easily by car and there are many excellent original small shops in the brewery area (a treat to browse around), not the least of which is one selling frozen gourmet meals, should you fancy a special 'at home' treat. The pub/ restaurant nearby (no noise problems from here, by the way), which has an extensive menu, is another option. The coastal paths along the cliffs and downs are easily reached by car; there's also a walk from the house itself to an old mill and the river which is a pleasant stroll. Cara (who is a quiet and affectionate animal) proved to be a delightful visitor on a couple of occasions. We found our stay quite idyllic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and facilities
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2013
Dear Sue & Steve
Thank you very much for your Review on tripadvisor. Its great to get feedback and really helps us to get bookings. Look forward to seeing you in the future.
Best wishes Joy, John and of course Cara (who is head of public relations!!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$70
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing