We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer - if you can get one”
Review of The Railway Tavern

The Railway Tavern
Ranked #118 of 310 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$22
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Railway Tavern You will find The Railway Tavern in Richmond within a short stroll of Twickenham, Mortlake and Ham - however you won't find another like it. Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served, as they should be, with a generous measure of famous British hospitality. A fascinating past The Railway Tavern was known in 1855 as The Railway Hotel, one of several pubs in the famous Quadrant of Richmond. In Victorian days the pub also offered rooms to its patrons, perhaps for sleep after one too many at the bar - or for those catching an early train. Today, the rooms have gone, but the pub remains and has been restored to its former glory. In fact, it's the perfect railway waiting room. One of a kind The Railway Tavern is one of many rare gems in the Nicholson's collection of great British pubs, reputed for their distinctive buildings, intriguing history and vibrant atmosphere.
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

I must have been in 10s of 1000s of pubs - of all of them this is the one where the staff are least interested in serving customers and most interested in running the pub for their own convenience. Three of them will busy themselves tidying the bar with their backs to you: not one will say hello or show the slightest interest that someone is waiting: tidying the bar takes precedence! They will tell you of the long journeys they must make to get home, as if to make you feel guilty for being there. And don't think of even troubling them when it gets anywhere near closing time: they will shut the bar earlier than advertised to suit their train times without even the courtesy of a bell - never mind a tradition which has existed to help understanding between staff and customers for centuries. If you venture into this place please understand one simple rule - you're a nuisance that will inconvenience the staff.

2  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Railway Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Richard. Feedback noted and incident discussed with the team and other guests present on the day. Review feels a little unfair but we are all entitled to our own opinions. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2017

Service, 10/10. Food 10/10. For me, the benchmark is a real pie, with pastry all around, not just a stew in a pot with a puff pastry lid. This was real. And delicious. Five of us ate here, we all chose off the set price menu, £11 for 2 courses or £14 for 3 courses, and we all had what we would have had off the other menu anyway. Which included salted caramel profiteroles to die for. Just a really lovely place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Railway Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Hi Mandy, thank you so much for your feedback and we are very pleased to hear you had such a lovely stay. Your comments are very much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

On tour so had a limited time to have lunch. It was one of those situations when you went to the bar with your order and table number. After a considerable amount of time and still no lunch once again we went to bar to find out what the delay was. Just couldn't believe it when we were told that the order, for some reason, hadn't reached the kitchen. Food when it arrived was okay but I did notice that a lady at next table returned the lot and was refunded. Because of this delay our tour was 30 minutes late in leaving Richmond. The staff, though pleasant enough just didn't seem to be able to cope with a very busy and looked like popular restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Agnes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Railway Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Hi Agnes, we are very sorry to hear of the problems you encountered during your visit. We will endeavour to work harder in training our staff and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Last Sunday we popped in on the off chance that the pub served roasts. We order the beef and the chicken as well as a side of cauliflower cheese. The beef was cooked to perfection and the chicken was juicy. Overall, the food was delicious and we were very satisfied. The service was spot on too and it was nice to have full table service unlike many other pubs. All of the staff were very friendly and made a point of thanking all the customers for visiting which I thought was a nice touchy. Also, we were very happy with choice of ales on offer and selection of gins. We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our visit and will be returning in the near future.

Thank travellingbee91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Railway Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

We are very pleased to hear you had such a lovely stay and hope to see you soon. Your comments are much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Just came on to right a quick review about a great night I had in the railway on Friday. I couldn't help but notice the comment below "poor service one to definitely pass"

I happened to be at the bar when this incident happened and what has been put on TripAdvisor is not a true reflection. The bar staff were quick at serving all night and I can't imagine anyone had to wait more than a couple of minutes to be served. The gentleman was very aggressive with the young bar lady and demanded service while my friend was in the middle of being served by her. She politely told him that there was another customer ahead of him in the que and that he would be served in a moment. The other bar man then stepped in and again told the gentleman that he would be served in a minute when he had finished cashing of the customer he was serving. The other gentleman then threatened to go elsewhere which was very rude and he was politely told that was completely his decision by the bar staff (what else could they do while serving customers who had been at the bar first!) He did get served and didn't go elsewhere, if he was so unhappy maybe he should have left. He of course complained to the manager who instantly apologised he was very rude and the manager was so polite...a brilliant example of good customer service when actually none of us thought he deserved it!

From mine and my friends point of view we had a wonderful night. Staff were brilliant, drinks were tasty and while we didn't eat so can't comment on the food we had a lot of fun.

1  Thank katielavelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Railway Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Hi Katielavelle, Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Railway Tavern also viewed

 
Richmond, Greater London
Richmond, Greater London
 
Richmond, Greater London
Richmond, Greater London
 

Been to The Railway Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing