We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,848)
Filter reviews
1,848 results
Traveller rating
694
566
340
159
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
694
566
340
159
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews richmond hill lovely hotel the river through secret escapes health club leisure centre junior suite course dinner on the small side booked this hotel car parking two night stay afternoon tea comfy bed sandwiches wedding reception town centre
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 1,848 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Awful quality coffee. Poor English breakfast offering. Despite having a suite and paying a premium corridors noisy, doors slamming making for a disturbed night. Great location but many improvements to customer comfort needed

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank je426966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane T, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Guest

Sorry you found the room noisy, the suites are located in a variety of positions throughout the Hotel, some in the old house and others in the newer Hill collection wing. The newer wing does not suffer from noise as we addressed this with investment during the refurbishment. The Georgian house which is over 300 years old, does sometimes creak, I am sorry if this interrupted your enjoyment. The team are always happy to look at alternative rooms if they are made aware. We will of course review our breakfast offering and coffee to ensure we are improving this areas for future customers.

Thank you for your feedback,

Kind regards

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Good room that has been refurbished backed up by very good facilities and excellent staff at sensible prices. Well located for West London. Will certainly use this hotel again. It has many attributes of hotels with a higher star rating.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pjmcdonagh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane T, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted you had such a great stay.

kind regards

Diane Tapner-Evans
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

A warm welcome upon arrival. Reception were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant was dear and the staff seemed in a hurry. They thought the curry my youngest daughter had would be fine but it was extremely hot and she was unable to enjoy. The restaurant evening staff did not match the star rating. Breakfast was fabulous though.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debbieglobal48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane T, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Debbie,

Thank you for your feedback, we will review with the team why a curry was recommended, we have a variety of alternative children's dishes which would have been more palatable. I appreciate you did not let this impact your enjoyment of your time spent with us.

kind regards

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Wonderful hotel with professional but very friendly staff. Just at the edge of Richmond Park in the fabulous town of Richmond. Lovely river walks. Ham House, Marble Hill House and Petersham Nurseries also great to visit. There are river trips but not when we visited. Kew Gardens, Strawberry Hill House and Hampton Court are also nearby. Would revisit.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paulineannt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane T, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Pauline,

Thank you for such a great review, we are pleased you had a wonderful time exploring. Please add Isabella plantation to you list as currently it is in full bloom and a wonder to behold.

kind regards

Diane Tapner-Evans
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

I am not in the habit of writing bad reviews, that you will see from my profile. If somewhere is in the habit of giving bad service they generally can’t be bothered to improve but for the sake of anyone wanting an honest opinion I have taken the time to write this!

If the Richmond Hill Hotel said this on their website would you book?!

‘Book a luxury king size deluxe room with king size bed (2 single beds pushed together for our flexibility) and come and stay in a room where your sleep will be lit up with hideous blue lighting from the bathroom that you will have no idea how to switch off. We can ensure you have the worst nights sleep possible as despite lots of customer feedback on this awful design feature we have done nothing about it. We are still having meetings about how to overcome this problem of having something put in the room to advise you how to switch it off. Whilst you are awake you can spend the night checking the bathroom again and again to see where the hell the switch could be. Then after your night of sleeping on two single beds in an advertised king size bed our friendly and patronising receptionists will be there to welcome you on checkout by saying you were advised on check in if you needed anything to call Reception you should have called.

Don’t forget before you enjoy your awful nights sleep to have a drink at our zero ambiance bar which is set up as the overflow tables for breakfast in nice lines, 2 up right chairs at one table, you know the dated look that you wouldn’t expect from a bar in Richmond.

Also included in your room rate is a delicious breakfast in our restaurant. After that awful nights sleep you can’t wait to choose the breakfast of your choice from our menu and have it served up like you expect from a 4 star hotel in Richmond. ( ok what I really mean is a canteen buffet breakfast but hey you get the idea of this hotel, by now you wouldn’t expect anything less!)

If the marketing team actually wrote the website with the words two single beds pushed together, canteen breakfast would you book?! No neither would I and I wish we had gone somewhere else.

I’m not normally in the habit of writing bad reviews as I said at the beginning but after speaking to different management on 3 occasions their attitude stinks, they couldn’t care of my experience and were not interested on offering anything to soften the blow of a pretty awful night away for a special birthday.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank shirleybacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane T, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Shirley,

I am sorry we failed to meet your expectations for your stay with us at the weekend. It is unfortunate that you did not reach out to the management team during your stay to share your dislike of the accommodation offered. This would have allowed us the opportunity to offer an alternative room or show you the bedside switch to turn the blue light off.

We were unable to offer you a satisfactory solution following conversations at the Hotel and subsequent phone calls. "Softening the blow" and demanding a full compensation are two different requests.

We understand that you did not enjoy your time with us and for that we are truly sorry, however we feel your review is not reflective of the Hotel or the comments you initially made regarding your stay. I think we should let our other reviews speak for themselves.

Kind regards

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews