We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 3rd visit and it gets even better!”
Review of Queenswood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Queenswood Hotel
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Deal, Kent. UK
1 review
“Our 3rd visit and it gets even better!”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

A very short notice visit - having travelled from Kent in the early hours. When calling ahead we were told if we wished breakfast would be cooked when were were able to arrive: the staff were immediately there to welcome us - no pressure - and we were cooked another excellent quality breakfast.
Nothing was too much trouble - we were put in the same room - clean, spacious and contemporary .
We are always treated with the utmost respect by Andrew, family and staff, all are very friendly and supportive. Andy and Suzy's review says the rest.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenswoodReception, Owner at Queenswood Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for your review Sue its always great to get feedback from our guests.

It is our aim to try wherever we can to make our customers stay as relaxed and comfortable as we can and I am pleased that you felt well looked after at the Queenswood. All people have to do is ask and if we can not put it right or find / fore fill a request we will try and find someone who can.

It would be good to see you again anytime your near Weston super Mare again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    59
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
21
91
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I've had occasion to stay here twice recently - once by myself and once with my wife, Sue. Andrew and David have been very welcoming and helpful during both stays and the rooms have both been clean and tidy and, on this last stay, with great views down to Steepholm in the Channel.
Andrew even went to the trouble of getting kippers for my breakfast after my disappointment on my first stay so I can confirm his claims that he will correct any problems or oversights are true. My wife says that the bacon is top class at breakfast.
It's close to the main town but quiet and off the beaten track.
Why would you want to stay at a 'McHotel'!

Room Tip: Only doubles have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenswoodReception, Owner at Queenswood Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you Neil for your review.

I hope things are ok and I am pleased that the Queenswood could provide a base whilst visiting Weston Over the Christmas period.

McHotels have a place in the world however we are really pleased to still be trading after over forty years here at the Queenswood and hope that there will always be a place for a small family run hotel/ B&B.

Kippers are still on the menu, as well as smoked haddock and it still amazes me that people like them!!

Hope to see you again some time but in the meanwhile best wishes - Andrew & David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We arrived late one Friday night ad hoc after being let down by the hotel we should of stayed in.

Andrew made us very welcome, were offered the choice, after viewing, of his 2 remaining rooms. The room we had was on the second floor the furniture was well matched and well coordinated and presented. Tea and coffee were available as was a hairdryer. Towels were repaced daily. From our room we also had a great view of the town, sea and the new pier.

The following morning breakfast was served in their spacious dining room and while I enjoyed the hearty full english, my partner was treated to a lovely piece of haddock poached in milk with a poached egg. A choice of fruit juice was offered and tea or coffee and toast was plentiful. Cereals were also on the menu. The service was pleasant and attentive.

Andrew opened the bar on the evening and served his customers personally. All ranges of beers, spirits, etc are available. We enjoyed a drink with him before taking to the town, and again upon our return.

All in all no complaints only compliments!

Well done to Andrew and his team.

We have already rebooked, the same room, and are looking forward to visiting Weston and the Queenswood Hotel for the weekend again in November for the fireworks at sea weekend.

Will recommend a stay at this lovely place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyandSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenswoodReception, Owner at Queenswood Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for your positive and constructive review.

We were really glad to welcome you to the Queenswood after a poor experience elsewhere. It was really good to chat and I was pleased you enjoyed our food, lounge area and relaxing in the bar during the evening.

21 is a smaller room with a few quirky characteristics however it has a massive as 'far as the eye can see' view over the Mendips, Weston town and sea front, the channel, north Devon coast and Wales.

Thank you for staying with us and for rebooking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We have just got back from a relaxing weekend in Weston and stayed at the Queenswood Hotel. It was clean, welcoming and quiet. We really enjoyed our cooked breakfast in the morning and I would recommend this small, family-run hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Weston.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenswoodReception, Owner at Queenswood Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for your review. We try to take as much care and love with the Queenswood as we can. We pride ourselves that people enjoy their breakfast with us (although we don't serve sausages - a long story!!) we source local produce and suppliers to get a real hearty breakfast, especially our thick cut back bacon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Reading the reviews of other guests staying at the Queenswood Hotel I can only assume that they were staying at a different Queenswood Hotel to the one we stayed in. Our room was dirty; the bin in the bathroom had not been emptied from the previous occupants and the room was dusty. There was not enough toilet paper provided. One other bizarre thing was the fact that the bar area was cordoned off with tape late evening reminding me of a crime scene - very strange. The breakfast was ok but no sausages or continental choice; all a bit of a time warp situation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHReception, General Manager at Queenswood Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your bin had not been emptied or that you did not have enough toilet paper – had you simply just asked we would of corrected this for you. Also I would ask other people to look at our pictures on booking.com or Late Rooms to see that I do not believe we are a ‘tired’ hotel. Yes we are not a Travel Lodge or a new city centre property but a carefully and lovingly looked after Victorian building which is a bit like the forth bridge! However your room had a fully tilled modern bathroom with a power shower and a Jacuzzi bath with its own sea view! It was recently redecorated and a picture of both the bathroom and bedroom can be seen on various sites. (Brown metallic style wallpaper with brown cushions etc).

We like to allow our guests 24 access to come and go as they please; hence the cording off of certain areas of the lounges with tensator barriers used almost everywhere. This allows us to alarm areas of the building whilst still allowing guests access to their rooms in the small hours of the morning after a night out in Weston.

Yes we do not serve sausages! But offer a choice of at least 8 different cereals, fresh juices, tea & coffee, grapefruit segments, yoghurt, porridge, toast, smoked haddock or kippers, cooked breakfast with poached, scrambled, boiled or fried egg with mushrooms, tomatoes, beans if you wish, fried bread and local sourced thicker cut bacon which I believe people enjoy. So I am sorry you did not see these options?

I am happy to discuss any of this with you as we dearly wish everybody to enjoy their visit to Weston but appreciate as hard as we may try we are going to make mistakes and not be everybody’s cup of tea!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#5 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.3 km away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
2.3 km away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#1 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.2 km away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
1.1 km away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queenswood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenswood Hotel

Property: Queenswood Hotel
Address: 17 Victoria Park, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Queenswood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Queenswood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queenswood Hotel Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing