We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveller rating
146
141
39
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
141
39
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dog towels well behaved dogs dog friendly hotel this hotel caters guide dog sea front refurbished room booked this hotel the ground floor public areas lovely clean hotel good size parking on site free car parking kippers shower room full english
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 346 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2016

This is an unusual hotel in that it is run by a charity for blind and partially sighted people. There are therefore extra things like gates at the top of the stairs and guide dogs/dogs generally are catered for. We are not disabled in any way (some might argue about that!) and that applies to more than half the guests. We had dinner bed and breakfast which is exceptional value and the food was very good. It is best described as plain home cooked food. Steak, chicken, fish, veggie options, omelette, 4 or 5 choices at least for each course for dinner. The full English breakfast is a good plateful and that follows cereal, porridge and fruit or ham and cheese options.
The staff are very helpful and friendly and go out of their way to help anyone who needs extra help, like pouring tea/ coffee etc. There is a bar and TV lounge, it is near the sea front and has parking in front of the hotel. All in all a very good choice, the only slightly negative point is it needs a bit of refurbishment but is clean and comfortable so that's not a major point.

Room tip: Some rooms look towards the sea front
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

We had to book 2 seprated room but was very last minute but the welcome was lovely very helpful staff .We also had a lovely meal in the evening again staff were great .Breakfast was also lovely and severed fresh to order ,only thing this hotel need`s is a good paint in side and new fitting in part`s would deffo stay again

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aliandamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole B, Manager at Lauriston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It will be my pleasure to pass your comments onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again to the Lauriston Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay the staff where very friendly and although we didn't bring our dog on this occasion I will bring her next time as they will watch your dog behind the reception while you eat and you can pop in the bar. Most Friday nights they have entertainment and the location is so central you are at the theatre of cinema in 10mins.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole B, Manager at Lauriston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will be delighted to pass your comments onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again to the Lauriston Hotel in the future and hope to meet your four legged family member.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

My other half and I treated his son & fiance to a night at this hotel to celebrate Valentines and their recent engagement. We had a warm welcome and liked this quirky hotel even though it is in need of a face lift. After watching the fireworks from the pier, which we did from the hotel grounds, we had a very tasty meal in the comfortable bar. Our rooms were clean and comfortable too and the hotel was nice & quiet. On arriving for breakfast in the lovely dining room, we found that all the tables had on them a gift wrapped box of chocolates for a perfect Valentines breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank valh405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole B, Manager at Lauriston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and you valentines gift from us.
It will be my pleasure to pass your comments onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again to the Lauriston Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel, found through my partner who works for the RNIB. The hotel is specifically adapted to the needs of blind and mobility impaired visitors. We're neither of these and received a great welcome from all the staff. Bedroom was big, although perhaps a little dated. Breakfast was individually prepared, much nicer than the hot buffet system.
Would thoroughly recommend.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole B, Manager at Lauriston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review, we pride ourselves on our great standard of customer care.
It will be my pleasure to pass your comments onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again to the Lauriston Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews