We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch ”
Review of Kirkstyle Inn

Kirkstyle Inn
Ranked #2 of 45 Restaurants in Brampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This inn overlooks the South Tyne river and its beautiful fells. Situated "off the beaten track" it well rewards those who travel to find it. It is also a very good lunch spot for those who ride the narrow gauge railway from Alston. The Kirkstyle Inn has been awarded a TripAdvisor " CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE" for each of the last five years, placing it in the top 10% of establishments, worldwide,for customer satisfaction!
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Staying down in Slaggyford and wanted a family Sunday lunch.. 2 minutes drive down the road and found this lovely pub. Wow the best ever roast beef I have ever had !

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank julies459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2018

Mid week supper par excellence! Black pudding to die for, feather steak cooked perfectly medium rare with an amazing pepper sauce .... wish we'd had room for a pudding, all of which sounded great. Other half wondered if we could stay in the area a second night so he could try a different sausage from their range so I guess that's as good a recommendation as we can give. Would definitely go again.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Bonnywitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

My wife and I ate there tonight on the recommendation of entries in the visitors’ book in our holiday cottage. Our first course was fine. For our main course I had gammon egg and chips, and my wife ‘Whitby sea food basket’ with chips and salad. In both cases the chips were very soft - had clearly been hanging around too long and perhaps reheated - while the battered sea food had been deep fried far too long and was overdone. When we brought this to the waitress’s attention she took the plate back to the kitchen, only to bring it back to say that the chef said ‘It’s been deep fried, what do you expect.’ Frankly, we expected rather better.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank johngregory3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

This pub is a little gem and deserves to be number 1 in the area. The food and welcome were both first class. The location is stunningly beautiful, nestling on a hillside overlooking the South Tyne river. The locals were welcoming and generous with their knowledge of the area as well as their birthday cake. Thank you John!. The menu was interesting and varied, catering for a variety of tastes and preferences including veggies and gluten free options. The three of us ate their several times, and absolutely everything we tried was first class. Superb home made chips and potato wedges, salads were tasty, interesting and huge, steaks were delicious and the veggie curry was excellent. You would need to travel a long way to better this fantastic little pub. We will be back....Shame we live 6 hours away!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kc3824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

Visited during our stay after recommendation by locals and was not disappointed. Best peppercorn sauce I’ve ever tasted. Home made chips were to die for. This pub is just off the main road and is very traditional. Locals are friendly and the staff welcoming and thankful for your business. If you want proper pub grub and real local ale this is your place :)

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank MattSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kirkstyle Inn also viewed

 
Castle Carrock, Brampton
Brampton, Cumbria
 
Carlisle, Cumbria
Brampton, Cumbria
 

Been to Kirkstyle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing