We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find in Northumberland”
Review of Kirkstyle Inn

Kirkstyle Inn
Ranked #2 of 45 Restaurants in Brampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This inn overlooks the South Tyne river and its beautiful fells. Situated "off the beaten track" it well rewards those who travel to find it. It is also a very good lunch spot for those who ride the narrow gauge railway from Alston. The Kirkstyle Inn has been awarded a TripAdvisor " CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE" for each of the last five years, placing it in the top 10% of establishments, worldwide,for customer satisfaction!
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Looked for a "well rated" inn for a trip into the country for Sunday lunch and came across this establishment.
This is a great find and all the good things said about this inn are well founded.
It is a little gem, unspoilt and with staff who couldn't be more friendly and helpful.
The lunch was exquisit with the roast pork having a lovely taste which melted in your mouth. The starters and desserts complimented the main course.
If you want a day looking around the Pennines near Alston ( the highest market town in England) search out this inn which is very near Slaggyford.

David and Viv

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dfitz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2017

First class food with extensive gluten free options. A cosy atmosphere and friendly service. Great value for money.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vince W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

This is a lovely little pub with friendly locals and staff, and we had an excellent dinner there. Even though we arrived just after the kitchen closed, they re-opened for us.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WillKeogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

We stumbled upon this quaint established quite by accident and decided to come and eat later, having popped over we were delighted to find a friendly pub with chatty locals fine ales and a stonking menu, great red snapper main course for the wife spare ribs for me with Julie's secret sauce and white fish basket for the daughter all in all a great night will be back

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We arrived at 22:20 after walking / running 200 miles from Edale in Derbyshire as part of the Montane Spine Race along the Pennine Way. We were with a Japanese athlete who was injured, cold, and very tired. The landlord made sure we had somewhere to sleep and recover under cover and ensured we had everything we needed, all for just the cost of a couple of (soft) drinks each.

The pub is very cosy and welcoming and I really look forward to returning for a meal at a more convenient moment. The pub is only about 300 yards off the route of the Pennine Way.

Many thanks for all your help which enabled us to ensure the Japanese runner could reach the next safety checkpoint and withdraw from the race without any further incident.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kirkstyle Inn also viewed

 
Castle Carrock, Brampton
Brampton, Cumbria
 
Carlisle, Cumbria
Brampton, Cumbria
 

Been to Kirkstyle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing