We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally relaxing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Totally relaxing weekend”
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Spent the weekend there with my girlfriend. I found the room to be of an extremely high standard, the food superb and the staff were really customer friendly and professional. The atmospere is really relaxed and makes for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    153
    50
    17
    10
See reviews for
229
420
29
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2011

My boyfriend and I have just enjoyed another delightful weekend break in the Clandeboye Lodge. Everything was excellent - the beautiful room , facilities. We dined in the Lodge restaurant on both nights and the menu choice was great., all beautifully presented.
Nice atmosphere. All the hotel staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
Also great value.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ringlandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We held our wedding at the Clandeboye on new years eve 2010 the service and attention of the staff was perfect. The manager, Graeme who looked after us was very attentive and was behind our every move directing us on what to do next. He read our mind on the day and
made sure everything was perfect. Our guests all complimented the food which we expected as that's all we heard when we told people we were having our wedding here. Service at dinner was perfect, staff served food and collected plates and you wouldnt even know they were there. Any extra food was offered to our guests which they all appreciated, the children were well looked after as well. Grounds are perfect for pics and the rooms are stunning. As it was Christmas the decorations were up including Christmas trees which were beautiful and really added to the atmosphere. In terms of price, you definitely get value for your money. All round perfect wedding venue. P.s we had ours in the viceroy suite. Hope this helps someone make up their mind.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belfastgal84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Attended a wedding here recently: Check in was quick and efficient on arrival which is always a bonus. The room was nice although bathroom was small in comparison. The bar that is beside reception was rather understocked... with sorry I'll have to go and get this and that 25 minutes to change a keg of beer and so forth. I understand this can happen but I am fully aware that it should not take this long- I have no idea why stock is kept in another building and has to be brought over as the staff member complained about.

Across the way and into the reception were we waited before the meal the bar area was extremely stuffy- January I know was extremely cold but it was an uncomfortable heat. Again the bar staff were under no pressure but service was slow.

The meal was fantastic though- but again service was mixed I suppose. Some very nice friendly staff and others there for an hours pay and you get the feeling they cant wait to escape or be bothered with giving a high standard of service.

The wedding party was extremely enjoyable and the function room very nice indeed- although some of our table were smokers and stated that there was'nt really a designated area as such or any heaters available.

Breakfast the next morning was lovely though and as stated in other reviews you do wait for it. But if its good its woth the wait (30 minutes).

All in all I did enjoy our stay but a high standard of service is one of the things I feel is extremely important and on this occasion let the place down.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auds90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

As parents of the bride we decided to stay the evening of our daughters wedding in the hotel adjoining the wedding venue. I am so glad we did. The wedding arrangements, customer service experience and assistance both prior to and on the day was 5 star. Thanks to Ian and all his talented staff. The food was top class and everyone commented very positively on the quality and friendliness of the place. As for the hotel we could not fault it, arriving somewhat stressed we were helped by the friendly staff from the off. The rooms we good , clean and comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was to be recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenM1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
2.6 km away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
979 reviews
5.6 km away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,705 reviews
4.6 km away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
11.7 km away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
7.1 km away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clandeboye Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clandeboye Lodge Hotel

Property: Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Address: Clandeboye Lodge 10 Estate Road | Clandeboye, Bangor BT19 1UR, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Clandeboye Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary design and a cosy atmosphere, Clandeboye Lodge is just 5 minutes’ drive from Bangor. There are beautiful landscaped sculpture gardens and the stylish rooms have free Wi-Fi. The 4-star rooms all have scenic views across the surrounding Clandeboye Estate. Rooms also have an HD TV with Freeview channels and DVDs. Set in extensive grounds, with manicured lawns and designer sculptures, Clandeboye Lodge also features the Coq & Bull brasserie. It has oak floors, iroko tables and stylish design. The contemporary menu includes seasonal, locally sourced produce and an eclectic wine list. You can dine al fresco on the large patio in the summer, or by the open fire in winter. Just 15 minutes’ drive from lively Belfast city centre, Clandeboye is adjacent to Blackwood Golf Centre. There are 8 further golf courses nearby, and Bangor’s picturesque Marina is a 10-minute drive away. Nearby attractions include the Ulster Folk & Transport Museum, and Mount Stewart with its stunning gardens, all within 20 minutes' drive of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotel.de, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clandeboye Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clandeboye Hotel Bangor
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing