We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (785)
Filter reviews
786 results
Traveller rating
399
228
86
45
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
228
86
45
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews travelzoo deal the main hotel lava bread parking space cockles both nights small car park eggs benedict steep stairs steak no lift evening meal welsh breakfast scallops lovely food dyfi estuary large bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 786 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

We love Aberdyfi and love staying at the Penhelig Arms - not our first visit. Staying in first floor suite in annex with fantastic views. Dinner in bar with dog great with friendly helpful staff and with great breakfast the next morning. Beach is amazing especially for dogs and you can walk all the way to Tywyn. Strongly recommend.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Zuberry7657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2018

Hello Zuberry7657,

Thank you for your lovely review, it's great to hear you had another fantastic stay with us. Always a pleasure welcoming you to the Penhelig.

See you soon.

Nicola & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

We have been going to aberdovey for years, eaten at most of the restaurants from snacks to fine cuisine,
Our first visit to this fine house, Great reception, great atmosphere,great ales and great food.

This in my opinion is the Jewel in the crown in Aberdovey We will be returning

Gil &Viv Rae
Sutton Coldfield

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank gilrae58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Hello Gil & Viv Rae,

Thank you ever so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. We're looking forward in welcoming you back to the Penhelig.

Many Thanks
Nicola & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018

Booked for dinner here with friends.
Main courses all good. We had an issue with one steak to begin with but this was quickly resolved without another question. The steak that replaced it was cooked perfectly.

I had the sausage and mash. Realy good quality sausages and very tasty mash.

We ordered and shared the sticky toffee pudding and the brownie to share as desert.

Would definitely eat here again and thoroughly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank airfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Hello airfish1,

Thank you for your lovely review, it's great to hear that you had a lovely time with us. We hope we can welcome you back again soon!

Many Thanks
Nicola & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

After our first visit had a few issues we decided to give the restaurant another go.

This time everything was fantastic! We were really well looked after, food was superb and service equally on par.

This will be a go to place when we are in Wales. The manager and team really care about their customers and it shows.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nigel33077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Hello Nigel33077,

Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to the Penhelig Arms.
Looking forward in welcoming you all back again soon!

Many Thanks
Nicola & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

My family has been coming to Aberdovey for 30 years now, and no visit is complete without a meal or two at the Penhelig. The food is consistently excellent, and the menu is great. There are some good vegetarian options, and whilst nothing in the way of vegan food the staff are happy to help.
Another great thing about this place is the quality of the food whilst it also being dog friendly in the bar area.
Would highly recommend booking a table here, and whether you're around for breakfast, lunch or dinner it won't disappoint.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Susie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Hello Susie K,

Thank you for your lovely review, it's fantastic to hear that you had yet another lovely time with us at the Penhelig. We're looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Many Thanks
Nicola & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews