We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in pleasant surroundings”
Review of The White Hart

The White Hart
Ranked #23 of 140 Restaurants in Sevenoaks
Price range: US$9 - US$23
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The White Hart is a fascinating building, its intriguing architecture bearing witness to many and varied stylistic influences in vogue since it was built in the early 17th century. It was originally positioned right next to the Sevenoaks turnpike, and as you'd expect of a coaching inn that has been nourishing and refreshing travellers for over 300 years, you'll find character and charm at every turn.
Reviewed 21 October 2018

The food served here is excellent. Menu items are different from similar pub restaurants. We went on a Saturday lunchtime when it was full. The only criticism would be the time it took the main courses to appear after the starters. My wife's potatoes were not hot enough and this could be due to the wait. Not clear if they may have been short staffed.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bertyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

This is a lovely pub with great outside area however that’s about it. Food is well presented but flavour wise pretty bland. Expect looong waiting and pricey bill.
We order starter and mains, and waited nearly 1hour for he starter and another 15min for the mains. second round of drinks order with the mains came after we were finished. One of the main was missing an element. In the end we didn’t even bother ordering puddings, as it would probably mean another hour of waiting... Service is just wrong from start to end. Waiters young, lost and disorganised with wrong atitude. Don’t apologize or explain what’s happening. Not to return for sure!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank MarianaFSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Visited The White Hart purely by accident when in the area and was so glad we did. It was a very busy Sunday lunchtime but we didn’t have to wait for too long for a table. It’s a big place and also has an outside area and I can imagine how busy it must get in the summer months. The staff are friendly and there are plenty of them so the service it quick as well. We ordered roast beef and roast pork dinners and both dishes were very nice. The menu is pretty big and there are lots of items to choose (I really recommend the pigs in blankets) just remember not to order too much as the potions are quite big. There are open fires throughout and I’m already planning a revisit when the weather turns colder just to see them all burning away. Just a word of warning, the ceilings are low with wooden beams so you’ll have to duck your head when walking about. I throughly enjoyed this place and would highly recommend a visit if you are in the area.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Ashbury71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018

We had a lovely lunch with friends at this pub. The cod and chips and Kentish sausages were yummy. The service was fast and polite.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank wombatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

I took my wife to this restaurant for our anniversary, we had booked and although we arrived early we were able to take our table, we ordered drinks and our main course, the drinks duly arrived, at this point we were told that our meals, both of which were roast dinners, would be delayed by 20 to 30 minutes. 45 to 50 minutes later our dinners arrived, the oops no roast potatoes on my plate, this was corrected promptly once i had been able to attract the attention of a waiter. The main course itself was satisfactory, but not as good as meals I have eaten at other Brunning and Price establishments. We ordered desserts both of which were excellent. It is doubtful that i will; ever return to this house again .

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 100ck9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Hart also viewed

Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing