We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great few days, fantastic B&B & mountain biking tuition”
Review of Eleven Westgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eleven Westgate
Ranked #7 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2017

Recently stayed for 2 nights at Eleven Westgate which I booked as a Christmas gift. As I had no knowledge of mountain biking, Mike couldn't have been more helpful or flexible in arranging the 1:1 tuition and sorting out a Christmas gift voucher. The accommodation was excellent and spacious. Breakfast was plentiful.
A few minutes walk to the town centre, we managed to park right outside or across the road easily. Amanda happily let me stay in the sitting room working both days with good wifi - Great hosts, lovely place, 2 days great guided biking in the Dalby Forest from Mike who knows his stuff. We will be back very soon, next time I'll try the biking too and do less work!
.

Room Tip: We had a large bright, quiet room over-looking the back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank watforge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2017

Little to add since my review last year, really. Once again, the welcome to their lovely B&B made us feel very relaxed. The substantial breakfasts kept us going til the evening & were tasty & well cooked. A few friendly chats added to the homely atmosphere. Everywhere was spick & span. Oh, & the daughter's flapjack was yummy!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, Owner at Eleven Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thanks so much for your kind words Rosemary. It was wonderful to welcome you both back again. We're pleased that you enjoyed the breakfasts and that everything was okay for you. We do enjoy chatting with our guests about where they've been exploring during their stay with us. I hope you got some good photos of the railway once you downloaded them despite the low light at the time! You'll be pleased to hear that our daughter is well on her way for a gold award in fund raising so thank you so much for taking part. Have a wonderful summer and we hope to be able to welcome you both back again in the not too distant future. Take care, Amanda & Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Spent weekend with three friends and had a fantastic weekend.
The hotel was great and the owners were so helpful and full of knowledge, will defo stay again.
The area of Pickering is brillant for cyclists and walkers. This hotel is a wonderful base to start your break.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank donnyd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, Owner at Eleven Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay. It was a pleasure to welcome you all. We're pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your time in our cycling paradise! We look forward to welcoming you again for another taste of what our area has to offer. All the best. Amanda & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

As promised after my first visit last year, I returned with my wife and daughter. We all enjoyed the most comfortable beds, gorgeous Yorkshire breakfast and of course, Amanda and Mike's lovely hospitality. Nothing was too much trouble.
I had booked a days mtb coaching session with my daughter. (My wife had a great day discovering the delights of Pickering). We had a really enjoyable day, testing Mike's patience as he skill-fully taught us techniques which increased our confidence no end. There were plenty of laughs as we learnt new skills in the beautiful Dalby Forest, munched on home made flapjacks (made by Amanda and Mike's children), before returning for tea, banana cake and gluten free chocolate cake. A truly relaxing and memorable weekend for all.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, Owner at Eleven Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to write about your stat with us. It was a pleasure to have doc come back and stay with your family and we're delighted that you enjoyed as much as the first time! It was great to see your confidence build during the day in Dalby so keep it up! We hope to welcome you back again in the future perhaps for another taste of the road riding! Thanks again, Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Lovely guesthouse, good location, lovely breakfast set you up for the day.
Disappointed unable to get wifi in our room & quite chilly at times, heating could've been on a bit more.
Parking not guaranteed had to park quite a way from guesthouse on one of the days,

Room Tip: Room at the back overlooking garden was very spacious with very large bathroom including bath, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sjs_foss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, Owner at Eleven Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to post feedback on your stay with us. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and that the Yorkshire breakfasts set you up for the day. We don't often have people stay in their rooms for extended periods during the day but if we'd known we'd have put the heating on extra for you as we like to make sure our guests are cosy and comfy. As it's an older house with thicker walls, we have two WiFi networks and some devices can't connect to the one with the farthest reach. We're glad one of your devices connected though and many people make use of our superfast broadband with their feet up in our large comfy lounge. On occasion guests can't park right outside the house and have to park just along the street. It's unrestricted though so it's very rare we have any issues but we're sorry on this occasion that it was a frustration for you. Thanks again for your feedback. Kind regards, Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.7 km away
Bramwood Guest House
Bramwood Guest House
#3 of 46 in Pickering
330 reviews
0.1 km away
Pear Tree House Bed and Breakfast
0.6 km away
The Old Vicarage Pickering
The Old Vicarage Pickering
#5 of 46 in Pickering
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Lowther House
Lowther House
#8 of 46 in Pickering
94 reviews
2.3 km away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 46 in Pickering
436 reviews
4.1 km away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 29 in Pickering
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eleven Westgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eleven Westgate

Address: Eden House | 11 Westgate, Pickering YO18 8BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range: €77 - €95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eleven Westgate 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eleven Westgate is an elegant Victorian home retaining many of its original features, which have been carefully restored to provide light airy rooms with a relaxed homely feel. The deceptively large house has quality furnished rooms, all en-suite with lots of home comforts. There is a large lounge where you can relax in front of a log burner for cosy evenings in with loads of books and current magazines to read or put your feet up and watch Sky+HD or a DVD. We are close to the centre of Pickering where there are many great shops with loads of places to eat and drink, all just a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Eleven Westgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eleven Westgate Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing