We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
285
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
285
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mountain biking poached eggs homemade bread be heading back home made cakes warm welcome full english a real home from home fantastic weekend set us up for the day great hosts cooked breakfast excellent breakfast feel very welcome yorkshire breakfast recommend staying here the north york moors
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2017

Little to add since my review last year, really. Once again, the welcome to their lovely B&B made us feel very relaxed. The substantial breakfasts kept us going til the evening & were tasty & well cooked. A few friendly chats added to the homely atmosphere. Everywhere was spick & span. Oh, & the daughter's flapjack was yummy!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, Owner at Eleven Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thanks so much for your kind words Rosemary. It was wonderful to welcome you both back again. We're pleased that you enjoyed the breakfasts and that everything was okay for you. We do enjoy chatting with our guests about where they've been exploring during their stay with us. I hope you got some good photos of the railway once you downloaded them despite the low light at the time! You'll be pleased to hear that our daughter is well on her way for a gold award in fund raising so thank you so much for taking part. Have a wonderful summer and we hope to be able to welcome you both back again in the not too distant future. Take care, Amanda & Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Spent weekend with three friends and had a fantastic weekend.
The hotel was great and the owners were so helpful and full of knowledge, will defo stay again.
The area of Pickering is brillant for cyclists and walkers. This hotel is a wonderful base to start your break.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank donnyd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, Owner at Eleven Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay. It was a pleasure to welcome you all. We're pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your time in our cycling paradise! We look forward to welcoming you again for another taste of what our area has to offer. All the best. Amanda & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

As promised after my first visit last year, I returned with my wife and daughter. We all enjoyed the most comfortable beds, gorgeous Yorkshire breakfast and of course, Amanda and Mike's lovely hospitality. Nothing was too much trouble.
I had booked a days mtb coaching session with my daughter. (My wife had a great day discovering the delights of Pickering). We had a really enjoyable day, testing Mike's patience as he skill-fully taught us techniques which increased our confidence no end. There were plenty of laughs as we learnt new skills in the beautiful Dalby Forest, munched on home made flapjacks (made by Amanda and Mike's children), before returning for tea, banana cake and gluten free chocolate cake. A truly relaxing and memorable weekend for all.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, Owner at Eleven Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to write about your stat with us. It was a pleasure to have doc come back and stay with your family and we're delighted that you enjoyed as much as the first time! It was great to see your confidence build during the day in Dalby so keep it up! We hope to welcome you back again in the future perhaps for another taste of the road riding! Thanks again, Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Lovely guesthouse, good location, lovely breakfast set you up for the day.
Disappointed unable to get wifi in our room & quite chilly at times, heating could've been on a bit more.
Parking not guaranteed had to park quite a way from guesthouse on one of the days,

Room tip: Room at the back overlooking garden was very spacious with very large bathroom including bath, very quiet
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sjs_foss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, Owner at Eleven Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to post feedback on your stay with us. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and that the Yorkshire breakfasts set you up for the day. We don't often have people stay in their rooms for extended periods during the day but if we'd known we'd have put the heating on extra for you as we like to make sure our guests are cosy and comfy. As it's an older house with thicker walls, we have two WiFi networks and some devices can't connect to the one with the farthest reach. We're glad one of your devices connected though and many people make use of our superfast broadband with their feet up in our large comfy lounge. On occasion guests can't park right outside the house and have to park just along the street. It's unrestricted though so it's very rare we have any issues but we're sorry on this occasion that it was a frustration for you. Thanks again for your feedback. Kind regards, Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

we recently stayed at Eleven Westgate for 4 nights. The accommodation was very well presented, spacious and included a large en-suite bathroom with full size bath. Amanda and Mike are a great couple and nothing is never to much trouble, they provided an excellent service. The delicious full breakfast held us in good stead for the days riding and Amanda's Banana cake and home made biscuits where very nice. Their knowledge off the local area and especially mountain bike trails was very helpful.
Stayed march 2017

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gjayne1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, Owner at Eleven Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review and tell others about your stay with us. We're please we were able to make you feel so welcome. It's really important to us that people feel relaxed an 'at home' during their time with us. It's great to hear you enjoyed the breakfasts and other little treats we offer for later in the day. Thanks again and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. All the best. Amanda & Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews