We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, comfortable and friendly.”
Review of The White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Business stay, rooms located in the house in the back; spacious and modernised with all amenities including TV and free wifi.
Diner and breakfast in the restaurant. The supper was excellent and the English breakfast as it should be.
We keep on returning to the establishment time and time again. For the reasons above mentioned AND the tiny but extremely cozy bar. We were told that the famous painter J.M.W. Turner had enjoyed his pint in the very same bar when he was painting Pickering Castle, located just around the corner.
Highly recommended establishment.

Room Tip: Assuming the rooms to the street would be more noisy that the ones in the back / the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, other at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes from the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights in the clean, charming and quirky cottage which is part of The White Swan Inn. Very comfy house which is full of character and a perfect base from which to explore the North Yorkshire Moors. There isn"t a shower as part of the facilities so expect to bathe instead!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, other at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review! Really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. It's a long way from Australia but we hope we can welcome you back.

Best wishes from the team at The White Swan Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

Spent two nights here for a new year break, we have stayed before and are impressed with the standards, staff excellent, very helpful, food good. Stayed in room 6 with a four poster bed - the bed has three steps up to it so just make sure that you are happy with that - we were warned when we booked that the bed was very high! Have also stayed in room one which is nice and has a normal bed but is at the front of the hotel so there can be more noise. We will return, we couldn't fault it and they are happy to modify dishes if there is something you aren't quite happy with from the menu.

Room Tip: Room 1 and 6 have a separate seating area
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 362jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, other at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind comments and review. We look forward to welcoming you back - you'll have to try a Hideaway room next.

Best wishes from the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

This is everything other reviews have said! A warm welcome with a lovely atmosphere, the staff were very accommodating and more than happy to create a space for our large party to have a drink. The Christmas decorations were lovely and added to the atmosphere of the place (great pictures in the ladies toilet).

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doullmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, other at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Pleased you enjoyed it! Thank you for your kind comments and review. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes from the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

It was a very cold day in Pickering so finding a warm pub with real fires to have lunch was a good start. Some families were eating in the bar so we were seated in the large rear dining room. The menu was extensive ranging from smaller snacks to proper meals. The main courses we chose included fish and chips, burger, ploughman's lunch were very substantial meals. Well cooked and enjoyed. No room for the long list of desserts though.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Marketing at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you for your kind review. Really pleased to hear you enjoyed lunch. We hope to welcome you back soon and hopefully next time you will have room for pudding!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.2 km away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.4 km away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
257 reviews
18.5 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
28.5 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,186 reviews
18.6 km away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Inn

Address: Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range: €138 - €198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at this proper family run Inn. Next year will be our 30th at The White Swan and we have just about got things organised. From the moment you walk through the doors you'll feel at home. We aim to keep things simple and just let you relax ...Tom Parker Bowles reckons 'Every market town should have a White Swan' and the Daily Telegraph described us as 'God's own Country Pub' on a recent visit. If you read the reviews here you will get a flavour of what we are trying to do. We are an Inn with a lovely restaurant and 2 rosette food but not the plastic fine dining you find in many four star properties. Real food, real people, lovely rooms and great value for money.And by the way if you are not delighted I will give you your money back so long as you tell us at the time.Victor Buchanan - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Pickering
The White Swan Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing