We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect accommodation for a 40th birthday weekend”

Review of Newholme House

Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Large Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Large Sitting Room
Double bedroom.  Suitable for one or two guests.
Extra large, open plan, fully fitted kitchen.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Slyon2005
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation for a 40th birthday weekend”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Arranged a friends 40th birthday weekend staying here from Friday to Sunday (Booked till Monday but opted to leave late on Sunday as most of our party were working on the Monday).
Contact with the owners on the run up to the weekend away had been great so I felt reassured that everything would be as we expected.
The house was amazing. Initially some of the party thought it was a little oldie worldly but it wasn't long till I heard them saying how homely it was and how much they preferred it to staying in some impersonal hotel.
The bedrooms were all of a good size with plenty of bathroom/toilet facilities to cope with 10 crazy women.
The living areas were great and we used each room for something different
One room we set up with a DIY Photobooth and used it as a game/quiz room. The other room we used just to relax when we needed some chill out time.
We had taken food for the first night and both breakfasts and we sat and ate as a group in the huge dining room. We also arranged afternoon tea to be delivered from Bluebell Tearoom and enjoyed a lovely afternoon entertaining the birthday girl in there.
The kitchen was fantastic. It really did have everything you could have ever needed. Lots of serving dishes and utensils along with enough crockery and cutlery to lay the wonderful table.
Having an extra drinks fridge in the pantry came in very handy as we certainly made use of it with every ingredients for cocktail concoction known were kept cool.
Overall this is a brilliant house with great value for money and we will be back I'm sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
I am so glad that all the girls enjoyed their stay...it is old ..Edwardian but we try to make sure that we give as much in the way of modern touches with fast broadband , good kitchen utensils and a reasonable tv with sky to give our visitors some of the modern touches. It is a great house to have a party and really interested that you ordered your afternoon tea delivered and wondered how that went??...very inventive and great that they could do the...a first for Newholme!!
we look forward to seeing you again and thank you for leaving the house so tidy when you left.
Regards David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M
Port Republic, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“"Sterling" stay in Stirling UK!”
Reviewed 3 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Overview:
The 1905 Edwardian style house was built and is still owned by the original family. As such it's 'captured in time'- a charming mix of personal memorabilia, fine antiques, vintage housewares, and plain, practical furnishings- but with modern amenities. It feels like one is on holiday at the home of a venerated and greatly loved great-grandparent....

Worth mentioning:
- Well located for travel, "center" of Scotland, situated on main train lines
- David is an excellent host- attentive, responsive, good-humored and very, very patient! He is also an excellent resource for travelers. Make your plans but "Ask David!" (...then listen to David....then tweek your plans!)
- Bed/Bath: Complementary shampoo and body wash, UK hairdryers, lovely linens, generous bathtubs and heated towel racks; sinks in each bedroom.
- Kitchen: magnificent vintage French gas stove!
- Of Note: The driveway and entrance is to the side of the house which is hidden behind bushes and stone walls but marked with a small "Newholme" sign. The brochure photo shows a frontal aspect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall ambience
Liked least: No dislikes!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2015
Hi Michael
Thanks for your review, and you will be glad that you are not here just now....it is horrible weather and whilst you had some bad days at least you got some good days, so glad you were able to see some of the sights that you wanted and look forward to seeing you again perhaps.
Best regards and a happy xmas season to you all.
David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliejean...
United States
1 review
“Our stay at Newholme House was absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a wonderful time visiting Scotland and staying at Newholme house. The house was conveniently located, spotlessly clean, and perfect for our large group of 12 adults. We chose to have full service the week we stayed, which included an amazing cook and excellent travel guides who were available whenever we needed them. From golfing to Castles to a beautiful drive through the Scottish Highlands, to a day at the Open Championship, our stay and experience at Newholme House was a dream come true. I would enthusiastically recommend staying at Newholme House. It was an unforgettable experience and I can not wait to visit again!

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2015
Well we enjoyed having you stay and we love to have clients who would like to see Scotland and take some chances on places to visit. Best Fish and chips was my favourite moment as you all queued and asked what you should order. A delight to have you and perhaps you will come back and see some different sites,
Regards Nikki and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsm447
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“An absolutely spectacular family vacation!”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Newholme House was perfect for us, our five children and their spouses. The home is lovely, in a great location, well maintained and exceeded our expectations. A perfect family vacation! We can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The size and comfort of the home
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2015
I am so glad that you all enjoyed your stay and compared to today and this week you got really lucky with the weather!!!...at least you had some decent days.


David and Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melodie r
Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful house for our family”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Newhome house was a great choice for our family to get together for our special occasion. The bedrooms were perfectly matched to our group. The kitchen was well appointed. Great central location to see the sites or catch a train to both Edinburgh or Glasgow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It reminded me of the house where I used to visit my grandmother.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
Glad you all enjoyed your stay here at Newholme and hope that the next time you visit you may be able to stay a little longer. Hope you had a good journey home
David and Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$324
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing