We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Grand old family house with style.”

Review of Newholme House

Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Large Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Large Sitting Room
Double bedroom.  Suitable for one or two guests.
Extra large, open plan, fully fitted kitchen.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Joan L
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grand old family house with style.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is a delightful, comfortable and spacious house , wonderful for children. Back door into the garden keeps wellies and raincoats away from the living room! A terrific kitchen is fun to work in for a big family although the cooker and the microwave both presented a brief challenge as all the instructions had been rubbed off!
The bedrooms are large, airy and very comfortable with excellent linen and towels etc. The property is well equipped and includes an interesting collection of pots and bowls for serving and preparing food. The dining tableware was first class and plenty of it.
We could find no table napkins but solved the need by buying a huge pack of paper ones from Sainsbury's . Supermarkets are very close by car as is the town centre. There is a lovely park within five minutes walk which has a play area for the children.
All in all a really great place to stay . We had a family reunion there and it was a very happy experience as the house felt so welcoming and homely. David and Nikki Callender manage the house very well and are an unobtrusive but effective presence as they are always happy to help.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The space and comfort of the house. Privacy and size of the garden.
Liked least: No cushions for the garden seats!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
Dear Joan
Many thanks for your review and as always we are more than happy when we know you enjoyed it so much. we did try supplying paper napkins at the start of last season however we are not sure if some of our guests were using them for what they were supposed to be for or for something else, we went through so many, even though we were buying in bulk , that we decided that it was a very expensive affair. I suppose we could do it again and just leave out a certain amount each week... so Nikki and I will have a look at that.
We hope we might see you again some time.
Regards David and Nikki.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DStevenso...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“A perfect location for a family gathering.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our entire family of 16 from Canada stayed here for a week in July 2014 using both the House and the adjoining annex. We had come to introduce the next generation to Scotland and to explore our family roots. During the week we entertained numerous relatives from the UK and Australia and gave a party for 35. The House was perfect for our purposes. It is spacious with two large sitting rooms and a modern, fully equipped kitchen. We had family dinners each evening with over 20 people in the large dining room. The bedrooms were large with exceptionally comfortable beds, warm comforters and soft Scottish breezes through the open windows. The lawn is wide for the children to play and the garden beautiful for silent contemplation. The caterer for the House provided a traditional Scottish dinner for a party of 35 which elicited many compliments for its variety and quality. Newholme House had been recommended to us by a Scottish friend and we couldn't have made a better choice. It didn't hurt that we had seven successive days of sunny weather !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having the entire family under one roof in such pleasant surroundings.
Liked least: Stirling is a difficult city to find ones way around.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2014
Dear David
I am so glad that it was all worth it, as you must have put in a lot of work to get it all together. Also it looked like the party was a great success and as you said the weather was perfect, and it actually continues to be so!
We hope it will inspire you to come back sooner rather than later, and I am so glad you loved the house.
My best regards David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful House!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A group of 9 of us stayed at Newholme House to celebrate a 40th birthday and the house was a perfect venue. Spacious rooms and a lovely garden meant we never felt cramped.

We had a lovely peaceful holiday and the house and surroundings contributed massively.

David and Nikki (who mange the property) were very helpful and always on hand if we needed anything.

Would definitely recommend this house to any type of group or family as the house has the facilities to suit anyone.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2014
Hi Eugene
Really glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you back again and thanks for leaving the place so easy to clean. Think you got a little lucky with the weather as well which was great.
regards David and Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley_An...
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful spacious house perfect for a large party of golfers”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a party of 9 "golf girls" (ages 44-74) staying for a long weekend and a warm welcome awaited us at Newholme House along with some delicious home-made cupcakes - a lovely touch! This charming traditional property has 6 spacious bedrooms (4 of which could be made into twin rather than doubles) which suited our group. The formal drawing room and comfortable TV lounge gave plenty of room for all to spread out and the dining room table would seat 12 comfortably. The kitchen was extremely well equipped and we certainly gave plenty of leftovers to the pigs and recycled our empties using the bins provided! The fine weather ensured we enjoyed sitting outside in the pretty gardens and we were delighted to be able to use the gas barbeque made available to us by David on Saturday evening. Two shower rooms and a bathroom are provided (one downstairs) and a good sized store room was ideal for storing golf clubs and/or bikes. The entrance to the house is quite difficult to spot however our birthday balloons came in handy when tied to trees at the end of the drive marking out the property for late-comers.
The village of Cambusbarron is only about 5/10 minutes walk away (visited friendly pub) and the town centre of Stirling is about 5 minutes drive from the house. Nearby towns of Doune, Callander and Luss all very picturesque. We would recommend trying to solve mystery of the Treasure Trail in Stirling which was great fun.
All in all we had a wonderful time staying here and would not hesitate to recommend the property for a large group/family gathering.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious bedrooms and fabulous kitchen
Liked least: Having to leave the property!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2014
Dear Lesley
Many thanks for taking the time to review Newholme..it is quite difficult to find at first and we are I think going to get a much larger sign, the owner however does not want one that is too obtrusive but we need to get one that can be easily seen. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and I think the weather helped and allowed you to have the BBQ. Hopefully we might see you again soon.
Best regards David and Nikki
PS i am delighted you liked my cup cakes!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHallgart...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Beautiful house, fantastic time had by all”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Ten of us stayed at Newholme House for the weekend and had a great time. None of the bedrooms are small and we had a couple of beds to spare.
The pictures of the inside of the house really don't do it justice, it's even more grand and really open. The downstairs layout is really spacious and perfect for a party, we comfortable hosted a further five people on the Saturday.
The garden and grounds are great but purely for full disclosure the main lawn is rather overlooked by the house next door (a newly planted hedge is not exactly concealing it yet). However it is only the property manager David staying there.
Plenty of off road parking space - although it is quite easy to miss the entrance!
The only negative aspect to the whole weekend was when one of the neighbours called the police after hearing some banging - we'd had a few fireworks; how they didn't also see the flashes too I don't know. It was only 10.30 pm so hardly too late in the evening.
Very pleased to see a full range of recycling bins.
We will hopefully return for a family gathering next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastically grand and spacious ground floor
Liked least: The proximity of the house next door
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2014
Glad you enjoyed the house and sorry I over looked you too much, we have a plan to soften the gable with planting and put in a tree that will cover that end,this time last year the hedge was 8 inches shorter so will feed it all summer, meantime I am glad you enjoyed your party. and look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks for all the recycling of which there was plenty, and leaving the house so clean. I sadly forgot to tell you about the composting for my friends pigs just up the road. Next time you can contribute to their healthy eating. I met one of the locals who was in the paper shop on Sunday morning and she was laughing as she enjoyed the fireworks, we will just go for 9.00pm then the next time.
Regards David and Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing