We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (901)
Filter reviews
901 results
Traveller rating
370
268
132
63
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
268
132
63
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bruce suite afternoon tea beautiful hotel christmas party night waiting staff the ground floor main course premium room an overnight stay bed and breakfast poached eggs wedding aurora booth bath castle robes
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 901 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have now eaten here twice and both meals were excellent. We had steaks ,one evening and then a lunch. Both times we were impressed by the quality of the food, presentation and service.
My husband said it was the best steak he had had in a long time, perfectly cooked.
There was a good choice of starters, mains and deserts on both menus. Both menus took into account the seasons.
The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel was spotless as was the toilets
I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank helendc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaunD1064, General Manager at Hotel Colessio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed the Restaurant food, our head chef is busy preparing a new menu and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Shaun Donnelly
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were at a retirement function recently. The buffet food was a long time coming and was awful. Basically we were offered pizza, which looked and tasted of burnt cardboard. Sausage rolls which were disgusting and chips!!! Not what I would have expected from a place like that. Also the drinks were far too expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaunD1064, General Manager at Hotel Colessio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest

I am sorry that you were disappointed after attending the retirement event, I am sorry we failed to meet your expectation, the organiser arranged the Menu selection in advance, the Potato Wedges where pre chosen, the buffet was also specified at a particular time in the evening and this was when it was served, once again I apologise this was not to your expectation.

Shaun Donnelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The building that the hotel is in is historic and as such cannot make changes to the outside - but the inside is very modern. Almost too modern - I would have liked to see it show more touches and nods to its history. But the bed was comfortable - unfortunately it was a warm night and there is no air conditioning. There was a small fan on the desk area but it just wasn't able to keep us cool. The food in the restaurant was excellent and we enjoyed the dinner there. Breakfast was buffet with some cooked to order items. The french toast with berries was very good!

Room Tip: Ask for a fan if it is a warm night
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grove911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaunD1064, General Manager at Hotel Colessio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback, we always appreciate guests feedback to ensure that we stay at the to of the hospitality industry, I am sorry that you found it warm in your bedroom, the good Scottish weather this year has certainly left us surprised, I hope we can welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Shaun Donnelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Issues: bulge in carpet in the room, chair and wardrobe/tv unit did not match the room décor. Room was sweltering, small electrical air-conditioning unit which rattled all night. no fridge, problems with WiFi, bit of a maze getting to the room.
Positives: nice building, good location, lovely bathroom, breakfast enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CHRIS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaunD1064, General Manager at Hotel Colessio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank your for your feedback, the hotel has recently changed ownership and a refurbishment plan is scheduled early into next year, I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Shaun Donnelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

We had a lovely overnight stay. It was lovely and clean. The room was very modern with a raised bed area. Lovely idea but the floor boards creaked with every movement.
The dinner and breakfast was well presented and tasted very good. It's in a prime location but on quite a steep road which takes you up to the castle.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jssc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaunD1064, General Manager at Hotel Colessio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review, we always appricaite feedback both positive & negative to keep us at the forefront of Scottish hospitality, I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Shaun Donnelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews