We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate”
Review of Ye Olde Six Bells

Ye Olde Six Bells
Ranked #13 of 122 Restaurants in Horley
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ye Olde Six Bells in Horley is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Not the easiest place to find but well worth the effort. Lovely old building with lots of character. Very warm welcome from all the staff who were very attentive but not intrusive. Good menu choices with lots of variety. The chef was more than happy to adjust my choice to remove an iten before serving that I didn’t like. Will visit again when in the area.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Skiltonjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Ye Olde Six Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Skiltonjas, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Ye Olde Six Bells! Thanks again for taking the time to leave us this information about your recent visit. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 2,125 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2018

My wife and I ate here on the recommendation of friends prior to flying out on our holiday, (we were staying at a nearby hotel). We made the booking online which was easy and duly arrived. We were warmly welcomed but asked to wait by the bar as the waitress who would be looking after us was not due to start her shift for another 10 minutes! When we ordered our drinks, just like other reviewers previously mentioned, some of the beers were not available. We were shown to our table, to be told that certain items on the menu were not available. The food was nice but not all of the food was warm and the table next to us were complaining that their vegetables were cold. We were at our table at 6.30pm and the restaurant was not that busy with at least half of the tables unoccupied. Overall a nice evening but could have been better.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

The building has a ton of historic charm if you’re into architecture. Minus heaps of cigarette smoke, it feels like a classic pub (all the aesthetic; none of the air pollution). Pies are delightful and portions are healthy - I’d recommend the chicken & mushroom. It’s an easy walk from many of the hotels & is fairly economical for a pub near the airport. Skip the hotel restaurants & snag a bite & a pint here

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Ye Olde Six Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us! If you have any further questions, please give us a call. We're always happy to help!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

Have visited this pub before and found it good but this time it was dreadful.Visited on Sunday 4th November and ordered drinks and meals. Starters were OK.but the main courses were terrible.Ordered 3 roast dinners 1 steak and 1 burger.Steak and burger were passable but the roasts were very poor. Cold meat and the vegetables were mostly mush.Brought this to the attention of the bar staff and were then offered a refund on the roasts.We were informed that there were new chefs on duty.If this was the case the management should have strong talk with them.It was a let down.Will think long and hard about another visit.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank johnspurek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

The pub seemed under-staffed, bearing in mind they appeared to be fully booked for lunch on a Saturday. Whilst waiting to be served for a drink at the bar, there was a queue of about 6 people behind me waiting but no urgency or apologies from the staff. The atmosphere appeared to be that everyone was an inconvenience rather than a customer. However, our waiter, Sub, was very friendly and polite once we got taken to our table, credit to him for his lovely personality.. We both ordered a ciabatta sandwich which took a very long time to arrive and, quite frankly, didn't seem value for money. A small ciabatta and a few fries but with no salad garnish, for £8 I would expect a bit more ...

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EdAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ye Olde Six Bells also viewed

 
 

Been to Ye Olde Six Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing