We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:30
Save
Review Highlights
interesting visit

Wanted to visit here since I first heard about on 'Would I Lie to You?'. Finally got my chance... read more

Reviewed 19 November 2018
AndreaJ70
,
Coventry, United Kingdom
Really interesting

Great little museum I believe the only one in UK. Good way to spend an hour the staff are very... read more

Reviewed 29 October 2018
Frank P
,
Poznan, Wielkopolskie, Poland
Read all 134 reviews
  
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
61
55
10
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
55
10
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio tour lawn mower princess diana duke street bucket list recorded guide fascinating stuff british engineering quirky little place related items on display worth a visit rainy day southport town centre my partner exhibits shop
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2018

We found this through a link on a page by chance and decided to pay a visit. Sounds a bit weird but actually really interesting if you have any sort of curiosity about lawnmowers! The place itself looks like a shop in the street and does seem to be half shop, half museum. The museum section is a series of small rooms on two floors and costs £3 to go round. A recording plays telling the history of lawnmowers and their development over the years and a description of many of the mowers on display. There is on street parking available though it was quite busy when we went and we had to park around the corner, however from here it's only a short walk, maybe 10-15 minutes to the main shopping street so you can leave your car and walk into town.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 84laurar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

Spent about an hour in the museum and found it very interesting. Start upstairs with an audio guide which has been put together well and highlights some of the collection of mowers and grasscutters. There are lots of machines and there is quite a bit of information to read. It is sad in a way that many of the companies that made these machines were British but are no longer with us. Curator came in whilst we were there and had a short chat. Apparantly there is a warehouse full of machines that can't be displayed in the museum due to lack of space.

The entrance to the museum is through a shop that sells, not surprisingly mowers. Its just under a mile walk from Southport railway station and is well worth a visit if in Southport,

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We loved this museum - it just suited our nerdy side! Absolutely stuffed with lawnmowers and lawnmower memoriabilia, we couldn't take it all in! Audio tour available. Really, really interesting, surprisingly! Lots of history about mowing lawns, celebrity snippets and lots and lots of lawnmowerd from throughout the ages.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank LocusA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

We had a nice impromptu guided tour. Lots to see. Lots to touch. Very interesting. Would recommend. Need to find this place as not well posted.History and general interest.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank barry77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Spent about 45 minutes looking at this museum and listening to the informative and funny commentary.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank JaneCur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews