We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not a nice visit” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stamford Guest House

The Stamford Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stamford Guest House
Ranked #22 of 40 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not a nice visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

mark called me 30 minutes before i was due to check in at 7pm to tell me there was no rooms for me and my 2 work mates, there was no real apology . i tried clifton villa across the road who sorted us out so we could have a good nights sleep
just a note there were no single rooms available at the stamford but there were no cars or lights on?

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank drfHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    18
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
47
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We Stayed at the Stamford in Febuary 2012 for my husbands birthday, we booked 3 rooms and we were all surprised at how nice they was, very clean and nice decor, the couple who run the guest house bent over backwards to make you feel welcome and even recommended a lovely restaurant for us to eat at, the breakfast in the morning was very well cooked, will defientley be returning

Room Tip: They know the area very well and were very helpful in recommending bars and restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuandlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We arrived a few hours late due to train issues, only to find that no one was in!! I called the hotel, and Mark told me that he had tried to call me, but the number didnt work ( my fault) and he returned to the property within 10 minutes. True to his word, I checked my emails and he had also contacted me via this - good communication.
Located just a few hundred yards from both the pier and Lord Street ( the main street for cafes, bars etc) the guesthouse is perfectly situated.
On the first night we were told that there was an issue with the heating, and that it wasnt getting up to temperature. Mark told us that a plumber would be visiting in the morning, and offered us his apologies. As it happens the building was more than warm enough
.Booking in process was very quick, and we were soon showed to our room. Reasonably sized and well decorated, we had been upgraded from a double deluxe,to a family room which had a double and single bed in. The room was very clean, and the shower room a reasonable size too. Plenty of hot water a good strong shower.Tea, coffee, and kettle are provided, and there is plenty of storage room with a large wardrobe and chest of drawers.
The bed was very comfortable, with Egyptian cotton bedding. The guesthouse itself is very quiet at night, ensuring a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was served between 8:15 and 9:15 ( i've stayed in b&b's before where it was so early it wasnt worth going to sleep) Full english was lovely, with the perfect portion.

Room was cleaned and bed made each day, and although I didnt actually see the staff cleaning during my stay the building remained immaculate throughout.

I'm a creature of habit, and will definitely be staying at The Stamford in future.Can't fault it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dandan666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Stamford for a couple of nights in January. We usually stay at The Vincent or Ramada but needed to be frugal following Christmas so opted for The Stamford instead following the positive reviews on Tripadvisor combined with an excellent B&B rate. The hotel is really well located just a 2 min walk from Lord Street and the Promenade. Eileen and Mark are really friendly as was their son who checked us in. We stayed in room 6; a spacious double at the rear of the property. It was well appointed, the bed was really comfortable and the room and bathroom were very clean and tidy; ticking all the boxes. Breakfast is full English (or any variant i.e poached eggs on toast etc.). What struck me the most was how peaceful it was. Usually when staying in a hotel I am woken by people walking along the corridor late at night or early morning deciding to have a loud conversation! It was so nice to stay somewhere like this which had none of this. I will definitely recommend and now favour The Stamford over the larger hotels. The service is more personable and friendly, the rooms are comparable, it was quiet, breakfast is included and the room rate is less! A great find.

Room Tip: Room 6 was really nice although I didn't look at any of the others!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NMD37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

I spent the weekend here (friday - Sunday) with my partner and young son. The owners Eileen and Mark where extremely friendly and welcoming. On arrival they showed us to our room. If you want anything then just ask as they will accomadate any requests if they possibly can. Our room was very clean and bright. The living room area and dining area where again very clean. Breakfast well all I can say is fantastic with as much tea/coffee as you can drink. This went down very well with myself.

I will stay here again as the hotel is located in a central position for all amenities. Thank you for a lovely stay at your hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieAnne16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.7 km away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.9 km away
Edendale House
Edendale House
#16 of 40 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 km away
The Warwick
The Warwick
#19 of 40 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Bowden Lodge
Bowden Lodge
#4 of 40 in Southport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.5 km away
Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast
0.0 km away
Clifton Villa Hotel
Clifton Villa Hotel
#6 of 40 in Southport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Guest House

Property: The Stamford Guest House
Address: 17 Bath Street, Southport PR9 0DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stamford Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Stamford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing