We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
200
50
17
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
50
17
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drawing room coach house rooms modern touches laver bread breakfast waitress dining room are charming hotel walk in shower owners and staff gorgeous room public rooms are main building peace and quiet interior designer walk along the beach nice bathroom portion sizes
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018

What a wonderful few days we spent last week at the Penally Abbey Hotel with our little dog Queenie. Such beautiful views, gorgeous gardens, comfortable well furnished rooms but most of all the warmest of welcomes from every member of staff. Nothing was too much trouble for this very friendly team. All three of us enjoyed every second of our stay. So loved our meals in the sun lounge, delicious food, great wine and music contributed to a very relaxed atmosphere. Can't wait to come back to be spoiled again!Thank you to everyone for a very relaxing break, but most of all for some marvellous memories.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank QueenieQueens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

We booked three nights at Penally as we were in the area for the Ironman event. Normally we would stay closer to the event but had left it late to book, and Penally was one of the only options available - we were so very pleased with our find.

The welcome was exceptional, with tea and cake in the drawing room to help us unwind. Our room was lovely, airy, clean, warm and spacious. Everything in the room was high quality, the bed was a super king size, and the pillows and linen were very high quality.

We had dinner in the restaurant on the first evening, the service was wonderful, we couldn’t find fault with the food, although we both said that a slightly larger portion size would have been welcome. We enjoyed the background music, really great mix that added a nice vibe to the evening. Breakfast was equally has high standard - and we were so grateful that the team went the extra mile to make breakfast trays for our 4am Alan call on Ironman day.

If we are ever in the Pembrokeshire area we will most definitely be returning, even if it’s just for afternoon tea!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank vjones35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

I have to admit that I am writing this review in a bit of a rush mainly because would be disappointed to forget them. It’s a review based around a couple of coffees.
We called into penalty Abbey book a room but before we arrived we realised that the Iron Man event was taking place on the day we hoped to stay and that put us off; anyway it transpired that they were fully booked but was asked for a couple of coffees and oh my what a way to feel welcomed. We sat in a small conservatory with a view, the wonderful and informative lady who served us (she was from Pembroke) could not have made us more welcome if we had booked a room for the week. A genuinely fabulous experience!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

This was our second visit to Penally Abbey. Our first, in 2017, was really excellent. This time, however, the service was very variable. We reported a minor problem with our room, which should have been trivial to correct, but nothing was done. The nature of the breakfast service varied between days and between tables, even though it was the same serving lady. At dinner, the food was good and the serving lady with the pony tail was pleasant, calm and efficient; some other aspects were mildly reminiscent of Fawlty Towers. We wondered whether the owners are basking in the glow of past success and have taken their eye off the ball. We are unlikely to return.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank megusta2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Yet again we were very happy with our visit to Penally Abbey. We stayed in one of the Coach House rooms which, although they don't have the beautiful views seen from the first floor bedrooms, are very comfortable, well equipped, warm and welcoming.
The breakfasts are wonderful, with great variety and served by the delightful Patsy for whom nothing is too much trouble, and she has a great sense of humour.
Dinner in the restaurant is delicious and the staff are very sweet and helpful.
We look forward to another visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews