We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuffed to the brim, fab night : )”
Review of The Fat Seagull

The Fat Seagull
Ranked #13 of 128 Restaurants in Tenby
Description: The Fat Seagull ethos is simple- select the best quality ingredients, cook simply with skill, passion and love then add special touches such as double cooked rustic chips, our own very special mini-roasts or the famous Pembrokeshire new potatoes... delicious
Restaurant details
Description: The Fat Seagull ethos is simple- select the best quality ingredients, cook simply with skill, passion and love then add special touches such as double cooked rustic chips, our own very special mini-roasts or the famous Pembrokeshire new potatoes... delicious
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fab meal and night out, Really friendly staff happy nothing too much trouble for them. busy night but loved my streak and could hardly finish my portion. Will be going back again when in town. A*

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kj J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great evening here with family. The food and service were first class. Some of us had steak which was cooked to perfection. Keep up the good work. Highly recommended for all ages.

Thank Beverley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on w/e great welcome and good service. Back after a break of six months won’t be as long next time. Changes to menu welcomed especially the all day breakfast, excellent portions not compromised by quality ingredients. Kids love the fish and chips and when it comes to desserts this is THE place!Prices fab as was atmosphere and decor. Returned for Evening dinner - great value, great food complimented by excellent choice of aperitifs and wines. Attentive staff were good and generous with their time and patience with my lively twin boys. Proximity to others not a problem as it all added to the superb, relaxed atmosphere and most of all eating here was fun for adults and children. Try it you won’t be disappointed.

Thank IrwynWilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lucky to get a table early this evening and many being turned away after we sat down. Got a roomy table for six luckily and did not feel crowded at all. It may well be a cafe by day, but the evening menu was thoughtful and well priced for us. Menu was right up our street with mixture of snacks and heart mains. Something for all in the family. It was steak night, 8oz with chips and salad for tenner, 16oz was £15. Bottle of red £10. Also ordered were these amazing chicken escalopes (huge) and fish cakes. It was superb. Lovely people running the place, so friendly and welcoming. Meat locally sourced, and so well cooked (rare and to perfection) and full of flavour. Home made chips were nice, plus excellent home made onion rings. Nice interior decor, clean and tidy throughout. Certainly worth booking ahead, and after walking back, saw the place was packed full of locals and tourists as it was earlier. Ideal place for families, and a nice atmosphere too. Certainly not failing to be a restaurant at all and with a tasty menu using local produce, what's not to like. Will visit for sure next time I'm in Tenby.

Thank SimeyWimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy B, Owner at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thankyou so much for your kind and complimentary review. It has restored my faith in humanity after the last one !! Everyone at the cafe / restaurant works really hard to make it feel homely and welcoming. We try hard to overcome our many space restrictions !
We have 2 amazing chef’s , they are both fully trained and have worked in some of the top hotels in Europe , All our waitresses are trained to be attentive and helpful and to put customer service first . They will be pleased you noticed as I am always banging on about it !
Your review was very detailed and covered many aspects of the menu etc , Thankyou for that . We do try to make our menus family friendly . I’m so glad you were pleased , and more so that you enjoyed your evening and your steak and wine etc .nice to know you got a rare steak perfectly cooked ... it’s our pleasure to serve customers like you and we hope to see you again in the future. You will be very welcome .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From the outside this place looked nice but after sitting down at the cramped tables and being served a meal with inedible chips, looks are obviously deceiving!!! This place is basically a sandwich shop/cafe that tries to become a restaurant on the evening and fails. The broken toilet seat in the one and only toilet for both sexes didn’t add to the experience either!!!!

Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy B, Owner at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

You visited our cafe on an offer night of a steak for £10 and wine for £10 . It was only the 2 nd week of the offer and it was inundated . I took the time to look back at other reviews you have written and out of approximately 17 reviews , about 14 of them are 1* , and about another 3 are 2* . Sums you up perfectly .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fat Seagull also viewed

Tenby, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 
 

Been to The Fat Seagull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing