We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank god for weatherspoons!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Symphony Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #49 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Ilfracombe is lovely and weather great but this hotel needs much improvement. I'm not fussy or my wife but room was awful and I upgraded!
Sea view was nice but bathroom needed condenming... filthy and bath nasty.not worth the extra £15 a night.
Food disappointing and only get £10 towards it even tho nearly everything is over a tenner.
I'm not saying completely avoid this place as deal wasn't horrendous with Groupon, but service food and room need improvements desperately.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Simondo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

Arrived after 4 hour journey to be told there was no reservation for us. Staff extremely rude, and were no help at all. Never been treated so badly, and experienced such disgusting customer service.
Found alternative accommodation after much on-line searching, which was extremely comfortable with very accommodating staff.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Initial expectation from other review were low.

These were super exceeded.

The Groupon is great value for money. Unlimited toast and hot drinks with good coffee at breakfast complimented with a basic but very adequate full English.

A good size nice room. Without view but comfy chairs and table.

Superb evening meals. OK we paid a few pounds a to upgrade from the basic £10 included meal but so worth a few quid given the DB&B price.

Loved it. Plan to return if we can get the same deal.

We were lucky with the weather. That always helps.

This hotel and restaurant are not without faults but at the deal price, I don't understand the reviews.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hancoxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

This was our second stay at Symphony Ocean View. Having been to the hotel before (July 2016) we were not put off by some of the, in our view unfair, previous reviews. Admittedly it is not a five-star hotel but nor does it profess to be or, indeed, charge five-star prices. The room we had was more than adequate. For what we paid it was certainly value for money. The staff were very pleasant and the food in the evening superb. We certainly didn't experience any unpleasantness between staff and residents - rather the contrary. Other guests staying at the hotel during our stay seemed more than content and from the majority of comments in the visitors' book that would seem to be the case for the majority. It is a pity than all those who have enjoyed their stay do not write positive reviews about it on Trip Advisor. This would help redress the balance with the very negative reviews about this hotel on this site. Of course everyone is entitled to their own opinion but, as far as we are concerned, this hotel really does offer good value for money and is in an ideal position. The owner still has much to do with regard to the refurbishment of the hotel but our advice to those thinking about staying at this hotel is to give it a try and not to be put off by some of the very negative reviews. The Tourist Information Office can sell you parking tickets which will allow you to use a number of local car parks or, alternatively, you can use the car park of the church which charges £5 per day. No overnight parking at the church but you can move it to the public car park which is free for overnight parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front if you want a view and wifi is important to you. Take your own toiletri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We booked this hotel through Groupon, it was very cheap so we weren't expecting luxury. The hotel is in a wonderful location facing the bay, we had paid to upgrade to a seaview room, the view was amazing.
The room itself was as we had expected, a bit tired shabby furniture but as expected. The bathroom however was horrible, tiles missing off 2 walls and looking dangerously like the rest were about to go. The bath was not clean and there was a wastepipe from the toilet cistern into the bath. The worst part was the toilet seat,it was made of MDF and had blown underneath making it very unhygienic to use.
The evening meals were included in our stay, however we were told on arrival that only an allowance of £10 per person was included and any extra was to be paid on the night and could not be settled at the end of week as you would expect.The staff in the evening were at least polite,the food was of expected standard, and there was at least a few veggie options, unfortunately these were mostly Pizza.
At breakfast the member of staff was downright rude, he made us feel as if we were being a nuisance asking for a vegetarian breakfast, although we were just given less rather than alternatives to the meat. When I asked how the eggs would be cooked I was told we only fry eggs here. He then made a dramatic comment to the whole room about having to get used to these vegetarians.When the breakfast did arrive ( far too quickly) it was cold and greasy. The only alternative was toast which was self service, no cereal, plus the coffee was tasteless.
On more than one occasion we had to squeeze past staff smoking at the front door, without even an apology for being in the way let alone for leaving us with the smell of their smoking.
On the third morning we couldn't face the breakfast or the server, so we went to Wetherspoons for breakfast. We decided then to leave, we went to the tourist information who could recommend somewhere else to stay. We felt relieved to be leaving.
As I said we did not expect 5 star, however we did expect to be welcome, we did expect at least a warm breakfast, we did expect staff to be polite, these things cost nothing.What a waste of a great location.

Room Tip: book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank alisonclarke110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.4 km away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#14 of 20 in Ilfracombe
351 reviews
0.4 km away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
470 reviews
0.9 km away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
289 reviews
0.2 km away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
718 reviews
4.7 km away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Symphony Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symphony Ocean View Hotel

Address: 2 - 3 The Promenade, Ilfracombe EX34 9BD, England (Formerly Symphony Blue Bird)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: €32 - €61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Symphony Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Symphony Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Symphony Ocean View Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing