We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated”
Review of Combe Cottage Restaurant - CLOSED

Combe Cottage Restaurant
Price range: US$8 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: At Combe Cottage Restaurant and Cafe the emphasis is on home cooked meals using fresh local ingredients. We are proud to support our local producers and suppliers.Full of character and charm our restaurant is ideally situated on the bustling Ilfracombe High Street. We would like to extend a warm welcome to all.
Reviewed 10 April 2015

We were thoroughly disappointed with the very slow service (although attentive) and poor food offered. There were 5 of us and the only customers in the restaurant. The starters were poor to mediocre, the lemon couscous in my mains were mushy instead of fluffy, the vegetables were so hard that one could not get the fork in and the chocolate mousse dessert was a solid mass of chocolate! Service was extremely slow. It was mid-week so goodness knows, what it's like when they are busy.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank siewmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Obliviously we are extremely disappointed with your rather scathing review. We are also somewhat confused as we do remember your party and certainly nobody complained, in fact, with the exception of yourself, everybody appeared to have a really good evening - so much so that we remember quite clearly one of the ladies in your party (seated next to you we think) on leaving, asking if she would be able to book a table for New Year.

We do understand that we can’t please all of the people all of the time and really do accept constructive criticism, but if you fail to highlight your grievances at the time, (your booking was five weeks ago), preferring to slate us on international platform, any issues are of course impossible to put right.

We have worked very hard over the years to produce reasonably priced menus filled with homemade dishes using locally sourced produce and have built up an excellent reputation and since your visit we have had many visitors (particularly over the Easter double bank holiday) and a number of really positive 5* reviews.

So, in our defence, and with no idea if you have some sort of alternative agenda, we feel we ought to make clear that we consider your one star review most unfair and quite unjustified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2015

We ate here on Easter Sunday evening. At 18.95 for 3 courses - a great value option. Our choices were goats cheese tart, damon and prawn cocktail, chorizo black pudding and potato cakes (starters) and beef stroganoff, chicken tagine and lamb shoulder on minted potato (mains) Chocolate mouse and bread and butter pudding (desserts) All were absolutely excellent. Portions were generous wine beautifully chilled and staff friendly. I wish I had a local restaurant like this on my doorstep! Cannot recommend highly enough, though my son would have liked a steak! Nevertheless the lamb went down very well... would return in a heartbeat!

2  Thank Trudy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2015

Many thanks for your lovely review, it was great to meet you all and to hear your thoughts on our special Easter Menu which we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed although you will have to come back later in the year when the local steaks are back on the menu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015 via mobile

A great restaurant on the high street, with welcoming hosts and cosy setting. The soup was one of the best tasting I've ever had and if the lamb and mint mash is on the menu you simply have to order it! Wonderful food at super value for money prices.

1  Thank colonelvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2015

Many thanks for your really lovely review it was great to meet you both and we are so glad you enjoyed our special Easter Menu - its something we try to do every year around this time and has proved really popular. Hope to see you again if you are ever back in Ilfracombe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015

As regular visitors to ilfracombe we always make sure a visit to combe cottage is top of our agenda. There is always a great welcome and fabulous home cooked food. Have never reviwed before but after the best fish stew I have ever eaten the other week felt compeled to. Keep up the good work and hope to see you at Easter on our next visit.

2  Thank morgsnreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2015

Many thanks for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed the fish stew, it has proved very popular! We will be changing our menus soon so it'd be great to see you all again to try one of our new fish options!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2015

This is fantastic place to eat - being vegetarian I'm often dissatisfied with meal choices and quality. With Combe Cottage you'll have plenty of choice and of a superior quality. I would recommend this Restaurant to anybody visiting Ilfracombe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulw09, Manager at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2015

Many thanks for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed our vegetarian options. Although we are not a 'vegetarian restaurant' we do recognise the need to have tasty, homemade, vegetarian option on each of our menus and we really appreciate your comments. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Combe Cottage Restaurant also viewed

 
West Down, Ilfracombe
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing