We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
266
39
6
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
266
39
6
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barcoastal pathgreat hostsbiscuitson arrivalwarm welcomelocal producewalk into townlocal areabreakfast was delicioushome from homefamily roomplaces to visitwonderful weekendtop floorlittle touchesvisiting ilfracombe
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner David stayed in this beautiful place for the weekend and we had a fantastic time! It was such a relaxed environment basically felt like being at home. They were fantastic hosts from showing us where we should visit in North Devon plus booking us tables for dinner! Breakfast was also great we tried each dish over the 3 days and they were all incredible! We will definitely be staying there in the future.

P.S the view from the House is also stunning looking over the little shipping village of Ilfracombe

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tezza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Great little hotel, 25 minute walk from the centre - very friendly and accommodating staff, clean and tidy rooms, excellent selection for breakfast - honesty bar for drinks in the lounge. Nice garden to relax in front and back.
Car parking a little tight for larger cars, street parking outside as well. Thoroughly enjoyable weekend at reasonable price for Ilfracombe.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank MT145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

I can only reiterate all the other positive reviews. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Adam, to the moment we had to leave, our 4 night break was lovely. We stayed in Room 4, a modest sized room, but had everything that you needed and for the amount of time that you spend in there, it was absolutely fine. Adam and Paula are fantastic hosts, friendly and accommodating and their knowledge of North Devon is impressive, not to mention both of their culinary skills, the breakfasts were superb!!! Nice touch too having a pot of tea made for us after checking in, whilst sitting outside admiring the idyllic views. Yes, the guest house is at the top of a hill, so the walk back takes longer, but there are taxis available if needed and the car park could be a bit of a challenge for some, but don't let that deter you from staying. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there, would definitely stay again and would recommend without a doubt.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Great Hotel from the word go. Easy to book, great friendly welcome on arrival and stayed good the whole visit.

Rooms are spacious (we had room5) with nice views over Ilfracombe. It is an old house with character and lovely high ceilings.

Breakfast is served downstairs with a range of cereals, fruit and hot food. Full English was super with nice fresh ingredients and served quickly and hot.

Hosts Adam and Paula (and lovely Bovril the Lab) are great. Friendly and full of local information, knowledge and efficient at serving and responding to any of your needs.

The hotel has parking which is a little challenging to reach via a steep slope, but there is also plenty of parking on the street right outside if you don’t fancy it! The walk into town is downhill on the way in and takes about 15 minutes depending on which side you are heading for.

Looking forward to returning soon for another visit.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sunseeker06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

We held our company quarterly sales meeting at Norbury House in May and were extremely happy with all aspects of our stay.
There were 6 of us and the house was ideal for our purpose - Adam and Paula gave us the run of the house for our visit and adapted the breakfast room for our meeting.
All of our colleagues loved the house, rooms were luxurious and well-appointed, and the welcome and hospitality was outstanding.
We loved the location, very peaceful and quiet, with a nice 15 minute walk into Ilfracombe itself. Breakfasts were bespoke and delicious and the ‘tea and biccies‘ in the garden on arrival was a welcome touch.
Adam was on hand to deal with any queries and help with recommendations and bookings for lunch and dinner - we had a lovely lunch and birthday cake delivered from The Deli.
The relaxing garden leads nicely on to the coastal path and Bovril is always happy to accompany guests on a daily walk.
From my initial enquiry to checking out, Adam and Paula dealt professionally and obligingly with all my correspondences, they were happy to accommodate our meeting request and also offered us an excellent rate.
They have provided all the extra little touches that make a visit personal and relaxing – as well as the ambience and luxury of a boutique stay

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique, stylish and luxurious.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peony241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews