We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
77
40
26
16
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
40
26
16
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering games room water wheel devonshire countryside indoor pool north devon table football delicious cream tea working order family break stream running woolacombe beach lovely place milton philip emus tennis
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017

A group of over thirty walkers descended on this lovely super quiet hotel at less than a week's notice .... They coped admirably ... The staff are such lovely people and went out of their way to provide for all our needs, they continually checked that we were happy and did everything they could to ensure we had a good time.
The hotel is not modern but has a well kept games room and a lovely warm swimming pool. The food was excellent. Loved the place loved the people.

Room Tip: There are hotel rooms and self catering rooms, so choose accordingly
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityControlNDevon, Public Relations Manager at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you for such a lovely review. We loved having you all here to stay and hope you will come again in the future. There will always be a warm welcome waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Very friendly and helpful staff during our stay of 6 nights. Excellent food, full English breakfast, packed lunches for our walks and 3 course evening meals all of a high standard. Trimstone has plenty of character and would happily return..

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquelinek104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityControlNDevon, Public Relations Manager at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you for your very kind review. We loved having you all to stay with us and are so glad you enjoyed the food. We pride ourselves on our service and quality of food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We visited as part of a ramblers group. Nothing was too much trouble for the cheerful staff. Room was spacious and well equipped. Lovely house, buildings, garden and location. Very peaceful. Service buses to Ilfracombe, Braunton and Barnstaple stopped at top of lane about 10 mins walk away. Food excellent and very plentiful. A car would be useful.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill_in_Chatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityControlNDevon, Public Relations Manager at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you so much for taking time to give a review of our establishment. It was our pleasure to have you all stay with us. Your enthusiasm for the local area was a joy; we live here and love it and are so glad that you were able to enjoy the appeal of North Devon. We would love to see you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Trimstone Manor is good in parts, but left us scratching our heads a little. Billed as a "Country Manor Hotel" I had certainly expected something a bit more upmarket, and at £140 a night plus £12 extra for breakfast it fell short of our expectations. Too many little things had to be corrected which could easily have been right with a little more attention to detail. For example we would normally expect the waste bin in the room to be emptied during a three night stay and also for the glasses to be cleaned. And there is really no excuse for out of date cereals in the breakfast room.

On the positive side, the bed was comfortable, the WiFi very good, the staff friendly and the hotel is in a very beautiful and quiet location.

An over sensitive smoke detector caused the fire alarm to go off at 1.30am on our first night, but "rather that that the alternative" which was pointed out to us when we dared to mention it.

If I could give 3.5 stars, that is probably a more accurate score.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank Stagman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityControlNDevon, Owner at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review though naturally we are sorry if anything didn't meet your expectations for what we are. We are in fact FCA 4 star Guest Accommodation as a Country House Hotel. We don't want to be a 5 star hotel or charge those sorts of prices - or indeed the double rate the local 3 star hotels charge. We want to be known for a comfortable homeliness with friendly staff and robust food.
I know we did try to look after your every need whilst you were with us and as was our pleasure. I had assumed that we and the staff had done that and indeed beyond the call of duty and attended to any problems which can arise very efficiently, from fresh milk for your rooms to any other specific needs.
I agree that the waste bins should have been emptied each day and am sorry if that was overlooked on any day but you should have said. I wonder if your room key was left - that is the trigger for the room to be vacant so we can then attend without disturbing guests and do the daily tidies?
I have checked the cereals too - I wonder if the two sets of dates on each packet may have confused things though even then, without going into 'best by ' dates and actually 'discard by' dates, we have not had any problems with the cereals served of course. Certainly we do not look to serve stale cereals, I assure you. We haven't wanted to go down the route used by bigger hotels either with communal cereals where the dates aren't shown! They do spoil quite quickly if presented like that, rather than individually sealed packets.
I am sorry about the fire alarm sounding too. In fact it was a sensor we had to change. It just decided to be faulty at an unfortunate time of the night. It is always most frustrating when there is a false alarm but I attended to the alarm swiftly, regardless of the time, investigated carefully to sure there was no fire then attended to the system, resetting it to cover all other sensors when I was satisfied that the faulty one posed no risk. It was replaced the very next day. I hope that other guests applauded the efficiency and aplomb with which we attended to the alarm regardless of the unhelpful time we were required to manage that and in protecting their safety - even if that was a false alarm. It did not sound from any issues of sensitivity. I am not sure what else we might have been able to do - we have 6 monthly servicing of the whole system but sometimes things do go wrong.
Regardless, I hope that you all enjoyed your time in lovely North Devon. It is cheaper in the low season and we still have much for you to see and should be happy again to direct you to some of those sights and attractions as we did this time.

Anyway, thank you for taking the time to post a review even if we were sorry it was not a higher mark for what we are offering!

All good wishes Philip J Milton - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Having a great week at Trimstone on a walking holiday as part of a large group. Great staff and food. My room is large and comfy if a little quirky. A great place to stay if in the area with a car. A bit remote otherwise but the service stops about 500m away at the end of the lane.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityControlNDevon, Public Relations Manager at Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us. We love that despite being so close to the beaches and local walks, we enjoy the peace and tranquility of the countryside. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews