We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Break away”
Review of Glen Devon Hotel

Glen Devon Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glen Devon Hotel
Ranked #40 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

1 night stopover, stayed in the Glen Devon Hotel. Friendly, comfortable and clean, dog friendly also. Free parking.
Easy access to shops and beach few minutes walk hillside location so ok down hill but steep uphill but walkable. Breakfast very good and to order. Made an enjoyable stay. 10/10

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DJBBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2016

Booked on the internet but when we arrived we realised that the room and bathroom facilities were not suitable for us as it was a shared bathroom - shared with a family of 5 with small children. We stayed, but even though this other family were the only other occupants of the hotel, we felt over charged (extra £20 per night) for a very dated sparse room with a 1970's cramped, badly planned bathroom. Cheaply appointed and not all that clean. That said, the single beds were comfy and the breakfast, though small was decent. Our room had a sea view, however the windows were single glazed and misted quickly. No independent heat source just a radiator - but heating was off !

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leyton h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 March 2017

This room has now had a re-vamp on its ensuite bathroom, the bathroom was clean the comments relate to an old colour bathroom suite, (ie not white and modern) however the mistake was made by the customer who originally booked a non-ensuite room which was their choice which was £40.00 total including breakfast. They then moved to a twin bedded room with full ensuite bath/shower and seaview for an extra £10.00 per person, making this a total cost of £60.00 for 2 people for 1 night bed and breakfast. Our breakfasts are ordered from a menu therefore if they only choose a few items then it's their choice to have a small helping. Our windows are only single glazed but as we are a grade 2 listed building we have certain guidelines to follow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We last stayed here in 2012, and said at the time that we would like to return....
Well, four years on, little has changed. One of the family rooms (still located, slightly unhelpfully, on the top floor) has been converted to a twin room, the profusion of notes dotted around the rooms seem to have been reduced, the welcome is still as warm as ever and the breakfasts are still as good.

The owners are in the process of updating many of the suites (there is nothing like an advocado suite to make you think "1970's") - this appears to be an ongoing process, meaning that some of the rooms are fresh and clean whilst others may appear to some to be somewhat dated (the idiosyncrasies of Victorian buildings such as this doesn't help the issue.)

Ultimately, however, you have to decided what is important to you on your holiday.

We, for example, tend to be out and about all day, every day, and only require a clean, warm, comfortable place to sleep and so having to use a 1970's blue slimline press button toilet isn't a big deal, provided it is clean ( which it is.)

For some people, on the other hand, the actual stay at the hotel is an integral part of the holiday. If, for you, having the latest power shower or a roll top bath and rose petals spread on you duvet is crucial to your enjoyment of your holiday then you may find the Glen Devon slightly wanting. Having said that, if these things really are important to you, then perhaps you should be looking to spend a lot more on your stay? I know of at least one Boutique Hotel in Ilfracombe - perhaps you should look to book in there?

If, like the rest of us, a warm welcome, good food and a comfy bed at a very good price is more important then the Glen Devon more than fits the bill. We will be back.

Room Tip: Family suite on the top floor. Not ideal for people who cannot manage stairs or hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul-B4j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Stayed one night here over bank holiday. We were lucky as it seems the whole of Devon was sold out! The warmest welcome ever, very comfortable rooms. Spotless. Excellent value for money in a very traditional and family run B and B that has certainly stood the test of time (not quite a hotel we didn't think). Great breakfast too.

Room Tip: Don't think they are all en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AKL43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

The Glen Devon is just five minutes foot walk away from city centre and harbour. In spite of that it's perfectly quiet, all away from trafic noise. Enough (free) parking space directly in front.
From the dining room you'll have a fantastic sea view overlooking the town. Especially in late afternoons and early evenings it's great to sit in front of the house on a bench, sip a nice drink, read a good book and enjoy the view.
Variety and quality of cereals is good. Cooked breakfast very good.
Very friendly people running the Glen Devon.
Free WiFi in good quality.
Nice bar with good selection of drinks.
I had a non en suite but that is mostly (and also here) no problem for me.
Some parts of the house are a bit out of time but in no way worn out.
Firm mattresses (very important for me!)
All parts of the house are clean and well kept.
In relation to what you get it's pretty good value or your money.

in few words = quiet / close to center / fair price / good service / nice breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DeLoew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
3.9 km away
High Ways House
High Ways House
#1 of 1 in Mullacott
13 reviews
0.4 km away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#15 of 20 in Ilfracombe
351 reviews
4.6 km away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
471 reviews
1.1 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
1.3 km away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 52 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Devon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Devon Hotel

Address: 3 Hostle Park, Ilfracombe EX34 9HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run hotel in a quiet position. Free car parking. Some ensuite rooms. Some sea views. Some rooms with shared facilities. Licensed Bar. Guests lounge. Evening meal available by prior arrangements. Same owners since 1989. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Devon Hotel Ilfracombe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing