We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
19
4
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
4
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfew minutes walkfamily runper nightnothing is too much troublesea viewdevondogtv
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We last stayed here in 2012, and said at the time that we would like to return....
Well, four years on, little has changed. One of the family rooms (still located, slightly unhelpfully, on the top floor) has been converted to a twin room, the profusion of notes dotted around the rooms seem to have been reduced, the welcome is still as warm as ever and the breakfasts are still as good.

The owners are in the process of updating many of the suites (there is nothing like an advocado suite to make you think "1970's") - this appears to be an ongoing process, meaning that some of the rooms are fresh and clean whilst others may appear to some to be somewhat dated (the idiosyncrasies of Victorian buildings such as this doesn't help the issue.)

Ultimately, however, you have to decided what is important to you on your holiday.

We, for example, tend to be out and about all day, every day, and only require a clean, warm, comfortable place to sleep and so having to use a 1970's blue slimline press button toilet isn't a big deal, provided it is clean ( which it is.)

For some people, on the other hand, the actual stay at the hotel is an integral part of the holiday. If, for you, having the latest power shower or a roll top bath and rose petals spread on you duvet is crucial to your enjoyment of your holiday then you may find the Glen Devon slightly wanting. Having said that, if these things really are important to you, then perhaps you should be looking to spend a lot more on your stay? I know of at least one Boutique Hotel in Ilfracombe - perhaps you should look to book in there?

If, like the rest of us, a warm welcome, good food and a comfy bed at a very good price is more important then the Glen Devon more than fits the bill. We will be back.

Room Tip: Family suite on the top floor. Not ideal for people who cannot manage stairs or hills.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul-B4j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Stayed one night here over bank holiday. We were lucky as it seems the whole of Devon was sold out! The warmest welcome ever, very comfortable rooms. Spotless. Excellent value for money in a very traditional and family run B and B that has certainly stood the test of time (not quite a hotel we didn't think). Great breakfast too.

Room Tip: Don't think they are all en suite
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AKL43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

The Glen Devon is just five minutes foot walk away from city centre and harbour. In spite of that it's perfectly quiet, all away from trafic noise. Enough (free) parking space directly in front.
From the dining room you'll have a fantastic sea view overlooking the town. Especially in late afternoons and early evenings it's great to sit in front of the house on a bench, sip a nice drink, read a good book and enjoy the view.
Variety and quality of cereals is good. Cooked breakfast very good.
Very friendly people running the Glen Devon.
Free WiFi in good quality.
Nice bar with good selection of drinks.
I had a non en suite but that is mostly (and also here) no problem for me.
Some parts of the house are a bit out of time but in no way worn out.
Firm mattresses (very important for me!)
All parts of the house are clean and well kept.
In relation to what you get it's pretty good value or your money.

in few words = quiet / close to center / fair price / good service / nice breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DeLoew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately I had to cancel a reservation I had made and gave over 2 weeks notice.
The lady on the phone told me I could get a refund of any sort.
Disappointed to say the least so I suggested I keep the rooms and try and find others to take our place.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank SamF5635HY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 March 2017

The booking was made for 1 night only for 2 double rooms to be used as singles. You called and said you had to cancel 8 days prior to your arrival. We informed you that your payment was non-refundable as the amount you paid was less than our deposit amount for each room. You asked if you could get someone else to use the booking, we said yes providing you gave us the names of the people who would be coming. You never called back, as far as we were concerned your plans had changed and you were now able to come. We waited on your day of arrival, you didn't show and no one else did either. You left a bad review which really was quite unfair after the options we gave you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

I have had several visits to this hotel in the last couple of years. It's basic, functional but clean and tidy. Very relaxing, excellent (home cooked) meals. Not all rooms are en-suite, however, this isn't an issue for me. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank steelfixer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews