We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (833)
Filter reviews
833 results
Traveller rating
223
344
173
51
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
223
344
173
51
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national holidays free drinks shearings holiday shearings hotels self drive stair lift coach driver evening meal small lift third floor per day upgraded room weekend break restaurant staff meal times buffet breakfast lick of paint
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 833 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2017

great hotel well situated. good food, well cooked, friendly staff and helpful management.
,.
The big sheep excursion was very good,exainingpected to be boring but, in fact very entertaining.

nice pleasant town to explore with an excellent wetherspoons nearby

Room tip: No sea view but well situated, the big sheep experience was well worth doing, expected it to be boring but very well done
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Once again, thank you for visiting us and for your feedback, and we hope to see you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

Lovely place in nice weather and lovely coast walks and boat trips out to sea round the coast I'd go back, and it's near to lots of other nice places like the valley of the rocks and other sea side places, good food at the hotel & lots of fresh seafood places to eat out as well,

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank paulpF6934NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a nice time in North Devon.
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

We stayed here this weekend on a Shearings weekend break. The hotel is a very tired. We stayed in room 313 on the third floor. There was even stairs in our room. The room was basic but very clean.There is a lift there but only hold four people, so you either had to wait or climb the stairs, of which there are several. There are stairs also up to the dining room.So if you are considering booking then I would suggest you ask for a ground floor room. There is allocated times for the evening meal. The staff although pleasant were obviously advised to get guests in and out quickly. We had only just sat down when they came to take our order. I hadn't finished my starter when they appeared to ask about the next course. The food was adequate. Breakfast was a free for all . Chaotic to say the least. On the whole it reflected the price we paid.

Room tip: Choose one on the ground floor. Small lift only holding four, so the wait could be long and there several stairs.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank delphine646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Your feedback is important and will help us to improve our standards.
The Dilkhusa Grand is a Victorian style hotel and consists on 3 different buildings put together during the beginning on the 20th century (early 1900's), which explains the split level and the stairs that customers can find around.
As you said, we offer an excellent value for money.
Once again, thank you for visiting us and for your review, and we hope to see you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

This was a three night stay as part of a package deal comprising bed, breakfast & evening meal.

First impressions were good. Although in need of a little external decorative refreshment, nothing of great significance. Located perfectly within yards of all the delights that this town has to offer.

Upon arrival, reception staff couldn't have been more welcoming, and it was immediately obvious that they were determined to offer guests the very best experience possible.

Our room on the second floor was of a generous size, clean & tidy with a good size double bed. En suite bathroom with toilet, and both bath & shower facilities. Again very clean & tidy. Tea & coffee making facilities were also provided. Of note was the very pleasing views of the Ilfracombe landscape.

As far as the hospitality on offer was a tremendous set three course evening meal, with choices to suit any taste. Portions guaranteed to satisfy the largest of appetite. The morning breakfast was buffet style and of superb choice and quality. Provided as a daily standard was four free drinks at the bar, which was very pleasing.

Of particular note was the commitment of the staff, who worked tirelessly to cater for every need. The chef customised menu items to suit guests with special dietry requirements, which was impressive.

Evening entertainment was provided as standard, as part of the of the package.

Without doubt this hotel are deeply committed to customer service, and the word superb would not be misplaced as a description.

Whilst patently not in the Savoy Hotel league as far as opulence is concerned the Dilkhusa Grand certainly punches well above it's weight.

I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone who places great store by excellence in customer service, as I do.

Date of stay: April 2017
2  Thank Charvelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
As you said, we offer an excellent value for money and all members of staff work really hard to make sure our customers have a great time with us.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

We had an upgraded room which had just been refurbished, it was large and the bedding was good, all very clean. Towels small and thin.
Breakfast was good, if you could get any food, most mornings at 8-30 (breakfast stopped at 9am) they had run out and we had to wait quite some time before more was brought out, even ran out of plates.
The entertainment was brilliant. The staff great.The location was ideal.You need to book a parking space as the car park opposite was nearly always full.The town is dreadful, very run down.The open spaces are lovely.

Room tip: upgrade to a better room
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank maudie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro A, General Manager at Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments.
Your feedback is very important and will help us to improve our standards.
As you said, breakfast is a very busy time, especially during the first hour and sometimes is difficult for the staff to keep up; however, they all do a great job and breakfast buffet gets replenish quite quickly. After 8:30 am, once coach passengers had their breakfast, restaurant becomes quieter and our hard working staff will make sure there is always food available for customers that prefer a more relaxing atmosphere.
Once again, thank you for visiting us and for your feedback and we hope to see you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews