We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totaly amazing”
Review of The Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Osborne Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Dear employers and workers of the osborne hotel, thankyou for the most amazing stay I have ever had, I enjoyed my stay and will defently be telling friends and family about your welcoming hotel the food was to die for and the entertainment was superb I hope that others enjoy the stay at your hotel as o did thankyou again and please thank the kitchen staff for the wonderful food

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 251 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2011

I arrived on 20th August on a coach from Lancashire to ber met by Nick he xxxgot on our coach and from then on we did nothing but laugh. The meals were wonderful the bedrooms fine and all the staff were so caring. We stayed for a whole week and was so sad when we had to come home. Keep up the good work all of you and mylove to you all jean age 83.xx

Room Tip: I was in room 16 and if any one is in a wheelchair the ramp to the bathroom is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osborneIlfracombe, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2011

Thanks Jean for the lovely review. We're all glad you enjoyed your stay here xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed from Aug 29th to Sept 2nd. Good location. Food was excellant. Bedroom clean, tidy and comfortable.Bar and restaraunt service was very good. Entertainment was below average, however, Nick and his band were very good and so was the kareoke with Nick. But, bearing in mind 95% of the guests are 65+ the disco in the ballroom was very poor. Although the ballroom is a fantastic traditional ballroom, it was very cold and on the second floor.Most people left after the bingo. To make the evening worse, the ground floor bar was closed. Although the restaraunt waitress (Chelsea) was very good and efficient, if you did not have cereals, you had to wait until all tables in your group of tables had had their cereals before you could have your full English and toast. The lift is very old with an inner and outer door, and despite warnings and notices, if guests let the doors slam shut, the lift does not work. A member of staff has to go to each floor and find the offending door. A further negative point is that there is no communication with reception from the bedroom. So if the lift has stopped working you have to walk downstairs, or if you have an emergency, there is no way of contacting anybody.
Anyway, all in all, a good stay. Best wishes to Nick and hope all goes well with the operation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SilverSurfer1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

wow what can i say we stayed at the osbrone from 15thaugust till 19thaugust, we had a wnderful time brill hotel lovely food great rooms and great entainment made most welcome nick a great guy and his family will be back again anytime made my father most welcome hes 87 he really enjoyed himself
love steph maureen and kenxxx

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
Thank naturedsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osborneIlfracombe, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2011

We're glad you enjoyed your time with us. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

just got back from 5 days in the Osborne Hotel and had such a good time, Took my 80 year old father in law and he enjoyed every minute.! Everyone was so friendly and helpful. the entertainment was great and every meal was lovely, the rooms were very clean and in all we had a great holiday for a very reasonable price. Shame the weather wasnt better but you cant have everything!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dance38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osborneIlfracombe, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2011

Thanks dance38 for your review, its always nice to receive positive feedback. Next time you come to visit us, we'll try and book you some sunshine too lol xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 km away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
456 reviews
0.1 km away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
706 reviews
0.3 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
447 reviews
0.7 km away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
346 reviews
0.0 km away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Hotel

Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range: €88 - €89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Osborne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated to explore Ilfracombe, The Osborne is a friendly family run hotel offering a warm welcome and fantastic value for money. The hotel has 53 en suite bedrooms, a ballroom, dining room, bar lounge, sauna and small games room.With a wealth of sporting and leisure activities close by the hotel attracts families, couples and groups who enjoy the stunning views and rugged landscape of the North Devon coastline. Our executive chef provides a mouth watering menu of treats with special group menu's available on request. We offer free gun storage for clay pigeon groups, wet clothing storage for surfers, kayak enthusiasts and fishermen, plus nightly entertainment in the bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Osborne Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing