We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveller rating
367
166
44
27
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
166
44
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gun room clay shooting the newly refurbished rooms new owners lovely hotel would highly recommend this hotel owners and staff tunnels beaches high standard reception area first floor local produce breakfast was excellent full english breakfast attending a wedding coach party room was spotless
Filter
Updating list...
410 - 415 of 616 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2016

We were staying in Ilfracoombe and visited The Carlton in looking at a range of local accommodation for a family event next year. This very central hotel, right next door to The Tunnels Beaches remains open whilst undergoing a wonderful update and the owner gave us the guided tour. It's very clean and comfortable as it is and improvements so far together with future plans are very impressive - the Library and the loos are stunning. What is even more wonderful is the warm and genuine welcome, the service and the delicious food which we sampled on our return visit that day for dinner. We very much look forward to staying at this excellent hotel in the not too distant future. Thank you Michael and Elliott.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank enjoylife_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2016

Thank you so much for your review and endorsement, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in 2017 when we hope to have new bedrooms too. We are also pleased you enjoyed dinner and the welcome. Hurry back - Michael R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

30 of us stayed here as base for walking weekend. It has been great! Staff are so very helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Fresh food is very good, plenty of choice, and they coped admirably with feeding all us hungry walkers at the same time. Highly recommended

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pamelak228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Thank you so much for the recommendation Pam, we are delighted your group enjoyed their stay and we look forward to welcoming the Plym Ramblers back again very soon - Michael R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Spent Easter weekend at The Carlton with friends and our dogs. The hotel made our weekend. The staff were fantastic and from the moment we arrived until we checked out they ensured our every need was catered for. The room was wonderful and spacious. The restaurant in which we had breakfast and dinner was well staffed with a very efficient service. It had an excellent menu and a very good wine list. We could not fault the food and the savoury pancakes are to die for! The hotel is well situated with free parking and a short walk into town and the harbour. We've been looking for a hotel as a base to travel the coast in Devon and I think we have found it!

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2016

Cheers Sean for the great review, we are pleased you had a great stay and that you enjoyed the restaurant/bar services. We look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel which we hope will be very soon - Michael R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2016

we enjoyed everything about our 4 day stay at the Carlton Hotel. There is such a nice atmosphere in the hotel and the staff are so friendly and helpful. the rooms were lovely and clean and the beds were very comfortable.
the food was great. there was a very large selection to choose from both for breakfast and the Evening meal.
my wife has coeliac and the hotel made sure there was wheat free bread for her at breakfast time and had a good selection of gluten free main courses. we will definitely be staying there again in fact we are really looking forward to it

Date of stay: April 2016
Thank ianbetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2016

Thank you Ian for taking the time to review the hotel so positively, we are glad the team looked after you so well. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the not to distant future - Michael R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

But it will be worth the wait.
This booking started out on the wrong foot when I managed to book the wrong date for our stay! In my defence, I think the Tripadvisor/Bookings.com interface has a problem as the dates didn't seem to transfer over. Tripadvisor may want to take a look at this. Michael was very accomodating and we managed to get bookings.com to change the date, thanks Michael.
On arrival, the first thing that you see is the car park. Worth its weight in gold in Ilfracombe, believe me. Then there is the friendly welcome. You couldn't ask for more.
The rooms are a little quaint, or ours was. This is an inheritance from the previous owners and will be addressed during the ongoing refurbishment. Ask to see what they've done already, impressive doesn't do it justice. Can't wait to see the finished article.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelvinf151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and I am pleased we were able to sort out the initial mix up between booking interfaces...Sadly a sign of the times ahead I fear.... Rooms are quaint but not for long! We are glad you like the direction the hotel is taking. Hope to see you really soon - Michael R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews