We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful memories made.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Balgowan House

Stunning house, stunning location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning house, stunning location
View from the back garden Sunroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Stunning house, stunning location
View from the back garden
Sunroom
Sunroom
Sitting room
Sitting room
Kitchen
View from kitchen
Downstairs bedroom
Downstairs bedroom
Downstairs shower
Master bedroom
En suite to master bedroom
Upstairs bedroom
En suite bathroom
Upstairs bedroom
Family bathroom
Games Room
Loch Laggan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kingussie, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pippa R
Forres, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful memories made.”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in December 2013

We loved our stay here. The house had everything we needed and was clean and comfortable. Our teenagers didn't even mind having no phone signal or internet, we played games and had a good laugh together. Rooms were all spacious and suited our party size perfectly.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen
Liked least: The games room is unheated
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jane D
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent, spacious House”
Reviewed 20 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We decided just before Christmas to go away after New Year for a wee break, we checked on google for accomodation near Aviemore that would suit a large group and Balgowan House was one that stood out. Although a 25 min drive to Aviemore, we just loved the look of the house and it appeared to suit our needs. Booking was easy and clear instructions and directions were emailed to me. We were not to be disappointed, this house is lovely, spotlessly clean, modern and well equipped. All bedrooms are very spacious, in fact the house in general is big which was great as there were 10 of us sharing we didn't feel as though we were crowding each other. We found it to be very relaxing and it was great looking out in the morning to lovely scenery. We got snow which was an added bonus as the kids got to use their sledges, which we took with us, only to find there were sledges in the garage( really have thought of everything) will remember that for next time l.o.l This house really has everything, cooking was made easy, plenty utensils, pots etc, fresh towels in every bedroom, having 2 en-suites, a bathroom and shower room there was no queuing for use. If we were to be over critical, the games room is really the garage and being winter it was freezing so didn't use it as much as would have liked, overall, loved it, even stayed an extra night,..would stay again. Also just to add you really have to drive to shops, restaurants etc if not eating in house. Janet the lady who manages the property is lovely, she lives in the house at the corner and is helpful with any advice needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall size of the property
Liked least: No local amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drumnadrochit, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location allowed for a quiet peaceful break and safe environment for the children
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sublimedu...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Christmas In A Beautiful Setting!”
Reviewed 7 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We have family living all over the country so for Christmas this year we thought, rather than invade someones house for a a day we would all go somewhere neutral. Having done something similar the year before just after Christmas we decided to go for it again.

Balgowan House was Beautiful. The house is well equipped with everything we needed (including Cooking the biggest turkey i've ever seen!) All the rooms were spacious beautifully cleaned and maintained. This was great because it meant nobody drew the short straw because there wasn't one! All the linen, the bathrooms, the towels, the equipment all just what we needed! we shifted some chairs around in the living room for christmas morning and had christmas dinner in the sun room surrounded by the Cairngorms!

I could go on and on about the house but the whole area is just great. We went in the winter so obviously there was less to do but you can see that during the summer there would be LOADS to do all around. I really enjoyed the wildlife park but I'm a nature freak so I would. In my mind it's worth it just for the tigers and Walker the Polar Bear!

I suppose if I absolutely HAD to criticise anything it was the TV facilities which were adequate but a little bit dated. Also there was no WiFi which is a bit of a shock to the system but in a funny sort of way its's nice to be disconnected for a while! They would be my only criticisms and to be honest theres so much to do other than watch TV and post the odd tweet.

Overall a great place to stay with friends and family and I'd definitely recommend it to anyone who has a large group holiday in mind for a reasonable price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The lack of WiFi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,436
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing